World's Best Bacon Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This dip is excellent with a few additions: I used 8oz of shredded cheddar (instead of the swiss), 1 cup of shredded Parmesan cheese, 1/3 cup of mayo, 1tsp of garlic powder, 1tsp of onion and doubled the bacon. I kept the cream cheese, green onions and cracker amont the same. I then baked the dip for 20 minutes at 350. In the last 5 minutes I stirred the mixture and added the Ritz cracker topping. The dip was not oily at all (I think cutting down the mayo and adding the absorptive Parmesan cheese helped) and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
My mother-in-law made this after seeing Rachel Ray make it. We thought it was good but missing something. So the next time I made it I added just 3 artichokes chopped up. It took the recipe from an 8 to a 20 on a 1-10 scale. We almost didn't et thanksgiving because between just 4 of us we ate the entire bowl of dip! We serve it with onion and herb flavored crakers or with garlic bread chips. It is a favorite of ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Like Carolinc C, I had a nub of swiss and a nub of sharp cheddar in my fridge, so that's what I used. This dip is tangy, creamy, and rich--it was a hit at my house. We tried it with potato chips and on homemade bread--the bread won. I used bacon bits, cut the mayo to between 1/4 & 1/3 cup, and chopped up 2 Tbs roasted walnuts to mix with the club crackers to sprinkle over the top. I spread it in an 8 inch pie plate and baked in a 375 oven for 10 or 15 minutes, till it was bubbling. The crackers & nut combo crisped up and added a nice crunch. I am giving this 5 stars based on the raves of my husband and Mom; however I would cut the mayo waaaaaaaaaay back! Thanks Kamryn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
My friends and I have a nickname for this recipe: "crack cheese" because it's addictive like crack! People go GA-GA over this and it couldn't be easier to make. I use a 1/2 jar real Hormel bacon bits for the topping which is a huge timesaver. I use about 1/2-3/4 a roll of Ritz crackers vs. 4 as the bacon/cracker topping is so yummy. The best way to serve this is with Ritz Chips...they're perfect for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I've made this dip several times. I add some horseradish to it. It gives a little bite to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I doubled the recipe and added extra crumbled bacon. I served it warm in a small 2 quart crock pot. It was a hit at the party! Everyone asked for the recipe and the crock pot was completely empty at the end of the night. It's important to keep stirring the crock pot, otherwise a thick layer of oil forms at the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Love it! I just loved it with twice the bacon and baked it in the oven. It's a heart-attack special, but heck! Who cares....you'll die with a smile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I have to give this 5 stars because it was a huge it. I did make a couple modifications though. I used 8oz cheddar instead of swiss. 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream and 8 slices of bacon. This came out fabulous with no grease puddles like others mentioned. Fabulous...everyone at my party raved and it got gobbled up. Oh and to the post previous to mine, I love when people make little changes to recipes. Sometimes it's helpful if you don't like an ingredient and see that someone else substitutes it and it came out good. It gives you trust in trying that substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I wish i could give this a 3 and 1/2 stars. My mom liked it, and i thought it was ok... but it was a little bland. i added some hot sauce and some onion powder bit it still lacked flavor. It is good but it needs a kick. next time i will added some jalpenos and a lot of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This dip was very nice. It reminded me of a fondu. I liked it better with chunks of sourdough bread instead of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States