World's Best Bacon Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I tripled the bacon and cut back the mayo to 1/3 cup per other reviews. I also added cheddar along with 1 cup of swiss. I topped with ritz crackers. I found that this was a bit too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Do NOT microwave this dip. The cheese will be stringy. And don't eat with crackers. I've made this dip several times and can offer a few tips to make it good. 1) Bake dip at 350 degrees until bubbly. 2) Slice a french baguette in half and spread hot dip onto bread. 3) Put bread in the oven on the broiler setting. Cook until lightly browned and bubbly. With those modifications the dip is 4 stars. Without, I'd give it a 1/2 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This recipe is a Southern original. I think it was first seen in the Birmingham Junior League cookbook. I'm originally from Jackson, MS and there is an addition to this recipe that makes all the difference. A local cooking store drizzled Captain Rodney's Sweet Pepper Glaze (I think that's the name) on top of it. I've tried other pepper jellies on top and it's wonderful. The added sweet and spice makes it even more addicting! You can easily cut back on the mayo, or try different mayos. The whipped cream cheese is the way to go. I also use already cooked turkey bacon. Tastes the same, but is a tad bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I have to give this 5 stars because it was a huge it. I did make a couple modifications though. I used 8oz cheddar instead of swiss. 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream and 8 slices of bacon. This came out fabulous with no grease puddles like others mentioned. Fabulous...everyone at my party raved and it got gobbled up. Oh and to the post previous to mine, I love when people make little changes to recipes. Sometimes it's helpful if you don't like an ingredient and see that someone else substitutes it and it came out good. It gives you trust in trying that substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is very good! I did use 6 pieces of bacon instead of 4, also I was a 1/4 cup short on the mayo so I added 1/4 cup of sour cream. Oops. And I baked this dip instead of microwaving. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
The dip was good, but just a little bland and had a lot of oil in it after melting the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
My husband and my best friend LOVED this (I thought it was just so-so, but that's just me!) I used 8oz of shredded cheddar, 1 cup of grated Parmesan cheese, 1/3 cup of mayo, 1 tsp of garlic powder, 1 Tablespoon of finely chopped onion and doubled the bacon. I baked the dip for 20 minutes at 350. In the last 5 minutes, stir the mixture & add the Ritz cracker topping. (although I really couldn't see where the cracker topping added much, so don't sweat it if you don't have crackers.) Oh! one more thing: It's really ONLY good while HOT -- so, if you have a fondue pot (with one of those little burners underneath), use that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Only three stars because this needs to be baked, not microwaved. Very tasty and everyone love it but microwaving makes the oils separate from the cheese. Next time I'm going to back at 400 for 1/2 an hour or so...should be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I doubled the bacon and added some parmesan, but it didn't have much flavor. Maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and microwaved it for a total of 4 minutes (2 mins. stir and 2 mins). It was a 4-5 in taste but a dead zero in looks as it kept separating. There were pools of grease everywhere. I ended up dumping it because it looked like a 'Heart-Attack-In-A-Bowl'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States