Working Mom's Hamentashen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This was great! Especially with my preschool class as we didn't have to keep chilling the dough! The cookies also kept their shape during baking. Warning: do not put them on the bottom oven rack, we did burn a few. the upper & middle racks were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LEW
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very Easy and delicious. I did use a little extra water to get started, but also was generous with the flour on my rolling pin to keep the dough from sticking. I have never made Hamantashen before and I think these came out quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyWife7
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
So yummy...and so easy to make. The dough was a little crumbly, so I did have to add some water. I doubled the recipe (using two cake mixes, 4 eggs, and about 1 1/2 cups of flour) and made about 36 very large Hamentashen. Actually...I made these for a Hamentashen bake-off and they won against all the "traditional" recipe ones. You gotta try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyWife7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cape Hatteras, North Carolina, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Easiest recipe for Hamentashen ever! Since you'll be up to your eyeballs in flour/cake mix, try making a double or triple batch and share with friends. I also used regular vanilla cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Amazing! I couldn't believe how great these turned out. I needed to add a bit more water though (I used wet hands to knead the dough). Can't wait for next Purim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tirtza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I made these last night. I've eaten a lot of hamentashen and these were AMAZING. They tasted more like the ones bought at the bakery than homemade. The reason it's not getting full stars is that today the dough is getting soft/soggy to the point that a few have broken on the bottem. Still taste great though! Next time will refrigerate between making and serving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
These cookies were horrible! they stuck to everything so it was impossible to roll them out, i added 2 tablespoons of margarine to help, but it made the cookies come out very cakey. not good!!! i have made hamentashen before, this is a bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Tastes delicious and very quick & simple! The only prob is that the stiff texture made it very hard to form, thus making cracks by the edges. (in this case use water). It's also VERY sweet- which I haven't decided if I love or could live without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've never had hamentashen before, so I don't know what they're suppose to taste like. With that said, I thought these tasted too much like cake mix, and very, very sweet! I don't think I will be making these again, but thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
5 stars for quick and easy. A little bit heavy, but that's to be expected. Kids loved the chocolate chip fillling. Apricot and strawberry jam worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States