Working Mom's Hamentashen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Needs a bit more liquid, but yummmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
when i made this with a duncan hines yellow cake mix it came out excellent! i did have to add more flour to make the dough workable but otherwise it was great. the second time i tried a betty crocker milk chocolate cake mix and the cookies came out terrible (the rolo filling was great though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
These were ridiculously easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alybo
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Just made this recipe and it turned out AMAZING! I used a 15.25 oz bag of Pillsbury Moist Yellow Cake Mix, the dough was a little too dry at first so I added just a bit of water and it was perfect. I also used whole wheat flower, so they probably look a little different but taste just as good. I used apricot, blackberry, and raspberry preserves and mixed a few with Nutella (something I like to do) and they turned out wonderful! Most Hamentashen I've had are harder and less flavorful (the cookie part), but the texture of this is more fluffy and soft and tastes great on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I also doubled the recipe as another reviewer did with 2 mixes, 4 eggs, 1-1/2 cups flour and 4 T water. They turned out perfectly. My cake mixes were past the expiration date and I thought I would have to throw them out, but they worked wonderful in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
READ ME! This recipe is fine as is. The issue everyone is having relates to the size egg (and therefore the moisture content). I made them yesterday and it was sand in my mixer. I added oil, refrigerated the mixture. Today I bought more eggs - extra large eggs. I tossed my dough from yesterday and started over because I knew the oil would probably ruin it. Today I made them with the larger eggs and it was sticky - I added a little more flour. Perfect. So... to those of you who say its sand your eggs are too small and to those of you who say its too sticky, add some flour. AND YES, they should be triangles. Cut circles and pinch three corners to make "Haman's Hats." Good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Hamentashen have to be triangular, which is their distinguishing feature. Otherwise, it's just a cookie. Just sayin'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I was so excited to try these, hamentashen are one of my favorites (I worked in a Jewish bakery) but sadly they taste nothing like the authentic cookie. I added additional water as well to make the dough workable. They were very sweet (and I have a sweet tooth!) and just don't come close to the bakery style I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I just finished cooking 34 of them. Their for a project at school and I absolutely loved them. It was easy but hassle to roll because it was a first time with a dough like this. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Easy to make. Obviously, a very cakey texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States