Working Mom's Hamentashen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
These were the easiest hamentashen I've ever made and among the tastiest. The dough has a very, very nice flavor. Make sure to pinch the corners extremely tightly, so there is just a little filling visable. I had several in my first batch open up in the oven. They didn't look so good, but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This recipe is missing an important ingredient - the liquid. My preschool has used a similar recipe for years with great success. Use 1 box of yellow cake mix (Duncan Hines is pareve), 3 eggs, 1/2 C orange juice and 2 1/2 C flour (add more if the dough is sticky). Fill with your favorite preserve & pinch closed. Bake @ 350 for appx. 10 - 12 minutes. Use a touch of water to seal the edges of the hamantachen. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyWife7
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
So yummy...and so easy to make. The dough was a little crumbly, so I did have to add some water. I doubled the recipe (using two cake mixes, 4 eggs, and about 1 1/2 cups of flour) and made about 36 very large Hamentashen. Actually...I made these for a Hamentashen bake-off and they won against all the "traditional" recipe ones. You gotta try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyWife7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cape Hatteras, North Carolina, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I made this with one 18.25 oz package yellow butter cake mix. I had to add at least another cup of flour because the dough was very moist and sticky (like a cake). As a result I think it affected the cookie. I was disappointed. What went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Tastes delicious and very quick & simple! The only prob is that the stiff texture made it very hard to form, thus making cracks by the edges. (in this case use water). It's also VERY sweet- which I haven't decided if I love or could live without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I made these last night. I've eaten a lot of hamentashen and these were AMAZING. They tasted more like the ones bought at the bakery than homemade. The reason it's not getting full stars is that today the dough is getting soft/soggy to the point that a few have broken on the bottem. Still taste great though! Next time will refrigerate between making and serving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this recipe yesterday and although I had to add additional water, they came out absolutely delicious. The dough was soft and had a perfect flavor from the cake mix...we did everything the recipe called for and it worked out to perfection. Everyone who tasted them thought they were amazing. In addition to the extra water needed to make the dough stick together, I needed to bake them for an additional 2 minutes, but that was fine and again, this is an easy recipe that is quick to prepare and turns out a delicious hamentashen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
easy and delicious! i used betty crocker moist yellow cake mix and high-quality raspberry preserves... tasted better than the ones from the bakery (and less crumbly). I added about 4Tbs of water instead of the 2 as written, cuz otherwise the dough didnt hold together. i sealed the corners with water before baking... SO GOOD!! but i only got about 18cookies, so i guess i'll have to roll them out thinner next time (and make 2 batches- these were gone so fast!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I've never made hamentashen before, but I was alwaysdying to. I found this recipe online and in half an hourm they were in the oven. I must say that the cake mix might even be a better dough than normal hamentashen doungh, because of its texture. I tried them with jam and poppyseed filling, and with the jam they were delicious, the poppyseed filling was just too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very nice. What I found is that in making two separate batches, with two separate mixes, is it makes a differnce. Both mixes were Yellow Butter Cake, the Betty Crocker was moister and spread during baking but were very pastry like. Pilsbury was stiff and held the pinch better. Took them to a dinner for Purim and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States