Wontons for Wonton Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is the best wonton recipe ever! I fried mine in peanut oil until golden brown. It works to try different wonton shapes. Overall amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
For the sanity of those trying to find "dashi:" Dried fish flakes are actually called bonito flakes, and they can be found in abundance at any Asian grocer. Dashi is a stock made from boiling seaweed and bonito flakes, and is commonly used as a base for soups like miso soup, ramen, or even wonton soup. This is otherwise a good recipe, though I don't care for shrimp, and the extra salt isn't needed with the soy sauce. I use dashi as my stock (cover a 4x4 sheet of kombu seaweed with 4c cold water in a pot, bring to boil; immediately remove kombu and add 4c bonito flakes; boil for a minute then strain. The bonito and kombu can then be reused in another 4c water; bring all to a boil and simmer 10 minutes; strain). I also occasionally add daikon radish to the soup and water chestnuts to the wontons. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
First time wonton maker. This is a good recipe I made it according to the recipe and used a store bought chicken broth and wonton wrappers. I did a little research and added the wontons to boiling water, waited for the water to return to a boil, then added 1/2 cup room temp water and waited for a second return to boil status. I was wondering how the meat would cook thoroughly and this worked for me. This recipe made plenty of delicious wontons. I will try frying some to see how those taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElleBella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I believe this is an excellent recipe for authentic Chinese wontons, based on what I have seen my mom put into wontons made at home. We just leave out the dashi, add several pounds of bok choy (they weigh less after steaming or boiling), and put in a package of Chinese preserved mustard tubers. Some suggestions on how to make the wontons more authentic-looking: 1. Place 1 tsp. of the meat in the center of the wrapper, 2. Place water on the edges of the wrapper, 3. Fold the bottom of the wrapper to match the edges of the top of the wrapper to form a rectangle, 4. Fold the top part of the rectangle (the part that's not wrapping the filling that's stuck together) over the filling part, 5. Turn the wrapper over so that the folded part is folded upward in the back, 6. Bring the top 2 edges of the rectangle together, and use water to stick them to each other securely. It takes me roughly 1 hour to wrap 150 wontons, but for some it may be longer or shorter. Happy wrapping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I made this without the shrimp, dashi, and mushrooms, and added carrots. It only made a third of what it said it did, but I guess I overfilled/used less ingrediets. It was wonderful! I served them in chicken broth, and my entire family loved it. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Loved it. This recipe was so simple and easy to make. I didn't have mushrooms and dried fish flakes and it still turned out wonderfu. Thank you for sharing. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
The filling was great. I left out the shrimp and fish flakes. With just the pork and seasonings these dumplings taste just like the ones my Chinese friends make. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryanne56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
The combination of pork and shrimp was not very good at all. The shrimp was very over powering and the taste reminded me of the smell of catfood. I would definitely not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I changed this recipe somewhat, and they came out great. Just like my grandmother used to make. I omitted the dashi, since I couldn't find it, added 1 tbsp. rice wine (some other recipe suggested it), added 1 tsp. fresh ginger. I also omitted the egg, but I think the egg might help them stick together more. Its a very time consuming recipe to wrap them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
It did not turn out as i though it would, but it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States