Wonton Wrappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These turned out great! I rolled them out slightly thicker than you normally would and used them in homemade ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I followed the recipe but changed the ingredients. 1) I used 100% whole wheat flour instead of all purpose 2)I used sea salt instead of regular salt 3) I used vegetarian cage free eggs instead of regular eggs 4) I fried the dough in peanut oil It was so delicious. I am using this for a pot sticker recipe but I cant stop eating them by themself. Its like a very dellicious mini pita! I am having a hard time rolling the dough so I really do recommend the significance of a flat surface (im using paper plates on top of my washing machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary8810002

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: North Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very good recipe. I used my pasta machine to get it rolled thin enough. The dough was very easy to work with using corn starch instead of flour for the "flouring" of the work surface and the machine. I filled as I rolled so didn't have a problem with anything sticking together. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint James, Missouri, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This recipe was fun and simple. I loved making these wrappers and my mom liked them but I wish I could have figured out how to make mine a lot less dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I absolutely loved the way these turned out. I used them for Asian chicken rangoons and the flavor was great. The consistency could have been a little crunchier but that was all my fault for not frying them a little longer. They were definitely hard work and I don't plan to make them very often, but I will be excited to make them again for special occasions in the future. I've even considered using this recipe for other different types of fillings. It would make a GREAT chimichanga. My husband couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These worked great, I kept in the fridge till the next day. Easily rolled out thin, even though I used a glass. I sealed them with egg whites and they kept their shape great. Cooked up wonderfully~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
to roll out thinly, it is imperative to use CORN FLOUR sprinkled on when rolling. i read this somewhere, maybe someone else's review, but it works a treat! when stored with flour it will just eventually get pasty and sticky (and doesn't even roll out as thinly)but corn flour is what they use when you buy them ready made. i made a lot, and put them in the freezer. corn flour. mine looked professional. it was perfect. another tip, roll out this and other pastry doughs, pie crusts etc, between a clean old bed sheet (or a pillowcase). i cut a rectangle, put the dough in the middle, fold over the cloth and use the rolling pin over it. you will be surprised. it prevents the dough from sticking to counter tops and just makes it easier in general. have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was an interesting recipe to work with. I didn't have to use extra flour to roll it out -- it didn't stick at all. Unforunatley, I found it just about impossible to roll this dough as thin as it should have been. I allowed my dough to rest for the specified ten minutes, tried to roll it out, and found that I could only roll it so thin. I kept rolling, but it never got any thinner. I used this to make pot stickers, and let's just say they wound up being a little bit of filling with a ton of dough! And, they took twice as long to cook as the dough was twice as thick as it should have been. I'd try this again, but only if I get a pasta maker first, as someone else mentioned. Overall, I found this to be just okay. They tasted fine, but the fact that they wouldn't roll out properly killed it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This Recipe is awesome! I made Jalapeno, Cream Cheese,Cheddar cheese for the adults and my husband could not stop eating these i only got to try 3 of them! I just did plain wontons for my kids they loved them! We are going to try to make pizza rolls with these! I can't wait to make egg rolls with these they look just like the egg roll wrappers my mom used and boy are they expensive at the supermarket! Who knew they were so easy to make ! These are so easy to roll out and fun to make! I'm gong to try homemade ravioli also with these! I can't wait to make wonton soup with these ! the fillings are endless for these they are definately resturant quality ! I would give this an even higher rateing if i could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This recipe is so good. I am allergic to crab, but LOVE crab rangoon. Most of the crab rangoon I've ever had didn't even taste like it had crab in it, so I wanted to make a crabless version. I haven't made that yet, but I did use this recipe to make home made chow mein noodles and it fried up ultra crispy and good. Then I decided to make home made egg rolls from a recipe submitted by Mendy Ling and I used store-bought egg roll wrappers and I really do believe that this recipe would have made those egg rolls even better (and they were fantastic) than they were. Thanks so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States