Wonton Wrappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I agree with others - let the dough rest for half an hour. As for rolling it out - I use a pasta machine. works like a champ. If you want thinner sheets yet, take two of the thinnest sheets and stack with plastic wrap between them. Roll them again and presto two sheets half the thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Good recipe if you don't have the option to buy wonton wrappers at the store. I was planning to buy some, but the store was out of them. I was lucky to find this recipe! The only problems I had was that the dough was rather dry, and I had to keep adding more water. I probably could have added even more water. Also, it was hard to roll the dough thin enough. I thought it was as thin as the store bought wrappers, but when I went to eat the egg rolls I made (by the way, I used the "best egg rolls" recipe on here, delish!) they were soft instead of crispy, and I could see they were too thick to be crispy all the way through. Oh well, I will try to roll them out thinner next time. But overall, a great recipe to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misszizka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Wow, this was a lot of work. I did it because they don't sell wonton wrappers where I live, but in addition to making the stuffing for the wontons and fried rice to go with it, it took a long time. This is a Saturday project if I ever do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I am really glad you posted this recipe. I hate store bought wonton wrappers. This recipe was easy, although I did find the dough to be a bit sticky and difficult to roll out. For a healthier version I boiled these, but have yet to find the best filling. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Great recipe! To make it gluten free, add 2 tsps of guar gum, or xanthan gum. Also, I used a half cup of water. I haven't eaten anything with wontons in years so this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
these were really easy, and as long as you keep enough flour on the board, they are really easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Super easy, really delicious. We used them for the side crackers egg-drop soup that my boyfriend and I made last night. Rolled the dough out, sliced into random shapes, some thin strips, some wedges, whatever. We baked them with a little Pam on both sides and they came out muuucch better than the restaurant style ones, which are fried and heavy. Super awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I'm currently in a place where they do not sell wonton wrappers. When I first went online the prices for these wrappers are sky high and by the bulk. Fortunately I found a recipes and now I can make crab rangoon whenever I please. Thanks. The only problem I had was the amount of time it took to roll :(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
try using 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour and 1/2 cup rice flour, it gives the wrappers an extra asian flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
If I ever need a workout I will use this recipe again. The dough was fine but it was impossible to rollout. Like other reviewers said: you will need a pasta maker. But a great recipe. Spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States