Wonton Wrappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
try using 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour and 1/2 cup rice flour, it gives the wrappers an extra asian flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
If I ever need a workout I will use this recipe again. The dough was fine but it was impossible to rollout. Like other reviewers said: you will need a pasta maker. But a great recipe. Spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Perfect and exactly what I was looking for! Like another suggested, make sure you roll these really thin or they end up hard instead of crispy. I think if rolled out correctly, you will end up with more like 28 or 30 wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcshoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I forgot to cover the dough with a wet paper towel, so it was pretty rough to work with. Extremely hard to roll out and took me a long time to get it really thin. But all in all, the taste is amazing! It's way better than the store bought kind. I used a meat and cabbage filling and fried the wontons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made these tonight for crab rangoons. They tasted delicious! The only bad thing I have to say about this recipe is that, by hand, it is pretty difficult to roll them out to the thin sheet that they are supposed to be. Other then that, they fried up great, and I can imagine that they would be great for anything else that calls for wonton wrappers. One tip that I do have is to not stack them on top of one another (Even with flour in between each one). Believe me, they will stick. Luckily, I didn't stack them all so most of them came out perfect. :-]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I made chow mean noodles with this recipe and they were amazing!! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Has made it possible for my egg-allergic son to try "egg rolls" (I swap out the egg with alternatives -- Trying 1 T ground flax seed plus 3 T water tonight)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was a simple recipe that worked out really well! It was a little difficult to roll them out by hand, but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Good texture, roll out thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I actually cooked these. I boiled them for 5 minutes in a steamer pot, and I removed the excess water after they were boiled. They turned out great. I stuffed them with cheese, mushroom, and minced spinanch, and I drained out the excess water by lifting my steamer out of the pot. A wooden rolling pin is a no-no!!! You will pull out your hairs with frustration!!!. Use a wine bottle. or a ceramic rolling pin, and roll the small dough balls in some yellow/white cornmeal. I made small balls the size of a quarter and rolled them in the corn meal all at once to save time. Don't worry about it, most of the cornmeal will fall off when they are steaming, or boiling in the pot. I also used cornmeal on my surface to roll dough, to preventing it from sticking. When you finish roll the dough, put the stuffing in, and use a fork, to press the edges together, and then dip the filled wonton in the yellow cornmeal again and put them on a tray. It would prevent them from sticking. I took swanson chicken broth, I added some garlic powder, ground pepper, salt, & a dash of worcestershire sauce. When I plated the cooked wonton I added broth as needed. Also, if you make pork/chicken stufffed wonton steamed, you can add fresh cut scallions to the broth, for more of a chinese flavor. It is a healthy dinner meal idea. I used 1 cup white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour to make my dough. I wanted to stay away from fried foods, and the steamed turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States