Wonton Wrappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I used for potstickers... YUM!!! If you are one of the unlucky rolling these out by hand, I found that rolling out each of your 4 pieces into a square smaller than recommended, cutting into 9 equal smaller squares, and then rolling each square individually to size worked best for me, and there was no problem getting them thin enough using this method. Do yourself a favor and fill each one (or have a helper do it) as you roll it out - I had a horrible time with them sticking together having put the finished wrappers in a big stack and ended up wasting most of a batch. But the few potstickers I managed to make were so good that I saved my filling for the next day and tried again. A lot of work but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Perfect every time. Made in the food processor because it decreases kneading time. Pulse to form a ball and then knead by hand for a few minutes. BE AWARE you may need to add a few drops of extra water to make the dough softer! Don't add too much, though, or you will have paste. Also VERY IMPORTANT to let the dough rest for at least 1/2 hour (covered) before working with it. Otherwise, your arms WILL fall off! GREAT SUGGESTION ABOUT USING THE PASTA MACHINE by another reader. DUH! I can't believe I didn't think of that! Anyway, thanks, Steven for this recipe. I live in Italy in a small town where Wonton wrappers don't exist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
What a FUN and fabulous recipe!! I was sooo impressed with how these fried up! Restaurant quality indeed. One suggestion though... when working with the dough be sure to keep the extra dough balls moist under a damp towel, it will be much more pliable this way. Thanks Stephen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This recipe is VERY hard work if you have to roll the dough out by hand (w/ a rolling pin). If you have a pasta roller machine you'll save a lot of time and effort (and might spare yourself sore arms the next morning). I only needed to add 2 tsps. of extra water. Don't be fooled into thinking you need to add a lot more water. If the dough is sticky it will stick the rolling pin... Roll it out thinly for best results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
These turned out really good. Just make sure you roll them out REALLY thin, otherwise you won't get the crispy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meryl
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Great recipe! And I don't even mind making them with a regular old rolling pin: it's pretty good exercise. :) The only little thing I would suggest is to make sure you use a large or extra-large egg; if not you'll end up having to use more water with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Juan, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
My first attempt at making peking ravioli, and the store didn't have wonton wrappers. Luckily, I found this recipe. I didn't have much experience at making dough of any sort, but this recipe was really easy and quick. And the peking ravioli came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Wow, this was a lot of work. I did it because they don't sell wonton wrappers where I live, but in addition to making the stuffing for the wontons and fried rice to go with it, it took a long time. This is a Saturday project if I ever do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
They come out perfect. Just like my favorite Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I agree with others - let the dough rest for half an hour. As for rolling it out - I use a pasta machine. works like a champ. If you want thinner sheets yet, take two of the thinnest sheets and stack with plastic wrap between them. Roll them again and presto two sheets half the thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States