Wonton Wrappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I actually cooked these. I boiled them for 5 minutes in a steamer pot, and I removed the excess water after they were boiled. They turned out great. I stuffed them with cheese, mushroom, and minced spinanch, and I drained out the excess water by lifting my steamer out of the pot. A wooden rolling pin is a no-no!!! You will pull out your hairs with frustration!!!. Use a wine bottle. or a ceramic rolling pin, and roll the small dough balls in some yellow/white cornmeal. I made small balls the size of a quarter and rolled them in the corn meal all at once to save time. Don't worry about it, most of the cornmeal will fall off when they are steaming, or boiling in the pot. I also used cornmeal on my surface to roll dough, to preventing it from sticking. When you finish roll the dough, put the stuffing in, and use a fork, to press the edges together, and then dip the filled wonton in the yellow cornmeal again and put them on a tray. It would prevent them from sticking. I took swanson chicken broth, I added some garlic powder, ground pepper, salt, & a dash of worcestershire sauce. When I plated the cooked wonton I added broth as needed. Also, if you make pork/chicken stufffed wonton steamed, you can add fresh cut scallions to the broth, for more of a chinese flavor. It is a healthy dinner meal idea. I used 1 cup white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour to make my dough. I wanted to stay away from fried foods, and the steamed turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Excellent for pot stickers; only needed to adjust the water just a couple of Tbs. more to get that elastic smooth dough. Quickly made it in the Cuisinart food processor. Roll out the skins as thin as possible, making them cook and crisp quickly. Don´t roll them too large because the edge flaps collapse when heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Just what I was looking for! Made the dough in the bread machine, rolled it out thinly with a pasta maker, used it as an egg roll wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farmer's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Quincy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Great recipe. I made the dough and let it rest under a damp kitchen towel while I made the fillings (the dough needs to rest to make it easier to roll). Rolled out in abit of corn meal. I'll use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by DavidJamesMommy110208
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
these worked great!.. i have never even seen wonton wrappers in the store but really have never looked either so i decided to make sum this worked out great! i made crab and cream cheese wontons was very yummy! thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
The dough makes very good wontons but do NOT make without a pasta maker. They are extremely dificult to roll out thin enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Worked perfectly! Tasted just like my favourite restaurant that I can only visit once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Awesome! We really enjoyed these fried alone or stuffed with cream cheese. Our local Chinese restaurant has lost a couple of customers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These were good! A little time consuming, because I put my own concoction in it, but good! I put cheese and sauted onions and bell peppers in it. SO GOOD! We dipped them in some sweet and sour sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These turned out great! I rolled them out slightly thicker than you normally would and used them in homemade ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States