Wonton Wrappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Rolled them out bigger and used them as egg roll wrappers. Good for someone on a budget, but I think I'm probably going to splurge and buy the real thing next time, since it took quite a while to roll them out, and then it was tricky to wrap the egg rolls to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I was makeing "CHINESE CHICKEN SALAD III ".From this site And used this recipe it was soo good will keep for the future.. Happy cookin!!! Thanks for sharing and God bless you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Stoked I took the time to read reviews. Definitely cover with a warm towl and let rise for 30-45 minutes. I happen to be an extra unfortunate individual with nooo rolling pin. Took my bamboo cutting board and dusted it with flower. Flattened the dough out best I could by hand , pizza crust style. Then, with a dough scraper, cut the circle into six equal slices. Flattened out each piece and broke again into four pieces. Rolled all of the pieces into balls, let rest on parchment paper in between the board. I floured my board again and flattened each circle first with my palm, and then with the bottom of a measuring cup, also sprinkled in flour. I used the scraper to cut each circle into a square, then gave them on final mash. Made a few more with the circle scraps. Drained and pressed a can of spinach (usually use frozen, but had none on hand), sauteed 3/4 of an onion with a can of mushrooms in 2tbs butter, then tossed them in my mixer with 8oz room temp cream cheese. Filled the wraps and fried in sunflower oil. Made a dipping sauce with a little soy sauce, orange juice, and a tiny bit of oil/flour roux. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holcombec

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Worked well, I used wheat flour and only 1/2 the amount, yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
basic awesome recipe. Great in a pinch when you run out of pre-made wonton wrappers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I agree with others - let the dough rest for half an hour. As for rolling it out - I use a pasta machine. works like a champ. If you want thinner sheets yet, take two of the thinnest sheets and stack with plastic wrap between them. Roll them again and presto two sheets half the thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Good recipe if you don't have the option to buy wonton wrappers at the store. I was planning to buy some, but the store was out of them. I was lucky to find this recipe! The only problems I had was that the dough was rather dry, and I had to keep adding more water. I probably could have added even more water. Also, it was hard to roll the dough thin enough. I thought it was as thin as the store bought wrappers, but when I went to eat the egg rolls I made (by the way, I used the "best egg rolls" recipe on here, delish!) they were soft instead of crispy, and I could see they were too thick to be crispy all the way through. Oh well, I will try to roll them out thinner next time. But overall, a great recipe to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misszizka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Wow, this was a lot of work. I did it because they don't sell wonton wrappers where I live, but in addition to making the stuffing for the wontons and fried rice to go with it, it took a long time. This is a Saturday project if I ever do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I am really glad you posted this recipe. I hate store bought wonton wrappers. This recipe was easy, although I did find the dough to be a bit sticky and difficult to roll out. For a healthier version I boiled these, but have yet to find the best filling. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Great recipe! To make it gluten free, add 2 tsps of guar gum, or xanthan gum. Also, I used a half cup of water. I haven't eaten anything with wontons in years so this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States