Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I give this recipe 4 stars as it is written; however, after following some of the suggestions of the reviewers, I would give this recipe more than 5 stars if I could! As per the reviews, we added soy sauce, grated fresh ginger, and just a drop of sesame oil to further flavor the broth. Per the reviews, we also boiled the wontons first and then added them to the broth to avoid murkiness. Now that we have made this often, we have tried other ground meats - such as ground turkey or ground chicken and have often omitted the shrimp if we do not have any on hand. We cannot honestly state that we notice a large taste difference without the shrimp. This recipe is amazing and just so versatile! We freeze a big bag of these and either use them in broth, sear them in a pan and then finish off steaming them in the same pan to enjoy the wontons as pot stickers (sear on high for one minute - flipping wontons over to brown each side and then add enough water to just cover the bottom of the pan, cover, and reduce heat for 6-7 minutes), or we encourage our teenager to just make her own broth (usually hot water and a Ramen seasoning packet) and just drop a few frozen wontons in as her own meal. Don't let making homemade wontons intimidate you; we conquered this recipe the first time and just watched a simple video on YouTube for folding techniques. Love love love that my family can now make and customize these and freeze them to use them so many different ways. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy R. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I love Won Ton soup - this was my first attempt to make it, and boy, was I pleased with the results! I used water to seal the wrappers, and it worked fine. I did have to make some adjustments because my market didn't have everything: used Rice vinegar, not wine; regular soy sauce, not light; canned tiny already cooked shrimp, not raw; and for the soup I threw in Thai vegetables and what was left from the Wonton mixture. Cooking the wonton in the soup gave the liquid good, subtle flavor, and there were so many vegies in there, it didn't matter if it got cloudy. I froze wonton on a cookie sheet and now have plenty for the next few time - I can only hope it turns out exactly like this first batch did! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
this was really good and close to what u would get from a Chinese restaurant. I will make this agin. only thing I did dif.was added garlic and I used cooking sherry instead of Chinese rice wine I couldn't find it at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisajoy
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Very good recipe and easy to make .. left out the shrimp only because I didn't have any on hand .. served with a side of fried rice .. thanks for the recipe and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
probably a good recipe but when I put wontons in the broth I ended up with mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Super easy to follow recipe. I had misread the first time I read the recipe and thought it said Rice Wine Vinegar... it worked either way! I like to buy the Chinese chicken broth from our local asian market - just tasted that much more authentic. I got lazy and didn't want to chop pork, so I bought ground pork - works great! Easily add veggies, extra shrimp and meat to the broth to create a simple wor wonton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie Boudreau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Amazing! I convinced my mom to let me make it for my her and the rest of my family one night and all of us love it! My family and I have not had Won Ton Soup for years, and it wasn't even homemade, it was the Costco brand that we used to eat. This has definitely proven to be an amazing, refreshing, Won Ton Soup. It is simple and easy to make, and a lot of fun to wrap! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This recipe is delicious! Make sure you use excellent quality chicken stock for the broth. I use Minors brand chicken base and it is way better than some of the cheaper grocery store brands. Also, don't overboil the wontons or they get too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was great. I substituted the pork and shrimp with ground turkey. But the broth needs work to really make this special. I doctored it up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Added soy sauce and sesame oil to the broth, but didn't change the wontons one bit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States