Wonderful Yogurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I've made this many times and I just love it. I use extra yogurt but that's the only change....I just add two containers and use a premimum brand. I love the blackberry especially. It's not too sweet and needs no icing...a real winner in my book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
3 Modifications : 1) 1.5x the recipe (12 servings but used 2 eggs instead of 1.5)... and I got 12 muffins with good size tops... 2) Used white sugar because I thought the fruit-yogurt flavor was rather delicate for brown sugar... 3) After half-filling the muffin tins I placed a small bit of raspberry jam (about 1/2 teaspoon each) and then covered the jam with batter, making sure the sides of top batter touched the batter below so as to prevent the jam from leaking out to the muffin tin body... which will burn during baking... 350 degree oven for 30 minutes... Got the perfect muffin shape with high tops and shoulders... Very tender and fluffy inside... the white sugar gave it a soft white colour and I think it looks more delicate in addition to tasting so... The crust was golden and not too thick... The little jam "surprise" was good as the muffin was not too sweet... Some leaked throup the top... the colour contrast against the soft white inside was also very pretty... Overall, a great way to impart subtle flavour to muffins... as well as an easy way to make never-tough muffins... Will definitely make again... Highly recommended !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I used one more egg and white sugar instead of brown and got the moist yummy cake that the submitter mentions. If you're looking for a more fruity taste, a few teaspoons of jam may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I was excited to make this cake but did not turn out what I expected. The cake turned out crumbly, a little dry and heavy, maybe an extra egg and cake flour also white sugar instead of dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is a very good, easy cake. I used others ideas and added an extra 4oz of yogurt, an extra egg and it was very, very moist!I only had plain yogurt so I added 1/2 cup chocolate syrup for flavor. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This is a wonderful cake indeed!!!! Easy and I used wild berry fat free, sugar free yogurt! Did only have to cook in my oven for 35 minutes. Will be making again and trying different flavours of yogurt. Also cut back on sugar and used crystalized cane sugar. Highly recommend trying this cake!!! My husband loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
WOW. It is wonderful!!! I follow other users suggestions (use two eggs, regular sugar and 1 3/4 cup of yogurt). It is amazingly good. I did not have the vanilla extract but I used vanilla flavor Yogurt! Left in the oven for about 40-45 minutes. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbilloch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This is a good recipe. I used cherry yogurt(Dannon blend), though it is a very subtle flavor within the cake. Brown throughout (which I expected w/ the brown sugar) and not very pretty as cakes go. I did mix up some milk, vanilla and powdered sugar to drizzle over the top. Next time I may try to find a stronger flavored yogurt to use. Very enjoyable. I may make again to use for my daughter's first birthday cake, as she really enjoyed this first one I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Wonderful with raspberry & peach yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
The cake ends up really moist...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolene Bedi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States