Wonderful Yogurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by wendy
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This cake was so moist, fluffy and unbelievable tasty. I added an extra egg (as suggested by other reviewers) and an extra dollop of yogurt. I made it with apricot yogurt and added an extra 2 tablespoons of apricot jam. I also baked it in 2 2lb loaf tins. On one cake i drizzled an icing sugar mix (icing sugar, drop of lemon juice and a bit o water) and on the other i spread a bit of apricot jam (the minute it came from the oven) - Delicious!!! On another occasion I made it with choc chip yogurt - there was no need for icing - Beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This cake was very moist and yummy. I also made cupcakes out of it. The only thing I was disappointed about was I used raspberry yogurt and you could barely taste it in the finished product. I think it might help with the cupcakes to put a spoonful of jam in the center before baking. I will try this next time to kick up the fruit flavor. Overall very easy and tasty though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SouthernCook
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I baked this cake and it was a very easy recipe, it came together quickly, and the end product was moist and delicious. I did substitute white sugar for the brown, but I think it would still be good if you used brown sugar - perhaps just a bit denser. This is a recipe you could easily play around with by adding fruit blended into the yogurt or using different flavors of yogurt. I just used regular vanilla. I think next time I will try it with some cinnamon added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I followed another reviewer's suggestions and used all white sugar rather than brown. I baked muffins rather than a cake, and added a bit of raspberry jelly in between two scoops of the batter to create a fruit layer in the muffin. Unfortunately, the fruit sank to the bottom, but provided a sweet suprise in every bite! I would make it again, but am not in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made this using blackberry and pineapple-coconut yogurts and made muffins. The texture of the muffin was nice, but I am not sure if I liked the subtle fruity flavor, it was different. It was a good way to use the yogurt before it expired though. I froze these and will send them with my boyfriend since he loves fruity flavored stuff. I think I will keep this recipe and keep trying different flavors to find one that works for me. I felt like something was missing, maybe frosting since it is supposed to be a cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
WOW. It is wonderful!!! I follow other users suggestions (use two eggs, regular sugar and 1 3/4 cup of yogurt). It is amazingly good. I did not have the vanilla extract but I used vanilla flavor Yogurt! Left in the oven for about 40-45 minutes. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbilloch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Sorry but this was a disaster for me. Not sure why. The only "change" I made was to add plain non-fat yogurt and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
3 Modifications : 1) 1.5x the recipe (12 servings but used 2 eggs instead of 1.5)... and I got 12 muffins with good size tops... 2) Used white sugar because I thought the fruit-yogurt flavor was rather delicate for brown sugar... 3) After half-filling the muffin tins I placed a small bit of raspberry jam (about 1/2 teaspoon each) and then covered the jam with batter, making sure the sides of top batter touched the batter below so as to prevent the jam from leaking out to the muffin tin body... which will burn during baking... 350 degree oven for 30 minutes... Got the perfect muffin shape with high tops and shoulders... Very tender and fluffy inside... the white sugar gave it a soft white colour and I think it looks more delicate in addition to tasting so... The crust was golden and not too thick... The little jam "surprise" was good as the muffin was not too sweet... Some leaked throup the top... the colour contrast against the soft white inside was also very pretty... Overall, a great way to impart subtle flavour to muffins... as well as an easy way to make never-tough muffins... Will definitely make again... Highly recommended !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
The cake ends up really moist...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolene Bedi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I was looking for a dessert to use up yogurt. I made this not knowing if it would turn out, but it did! The fist time I made it with strawberry yogurt. Mine only took about 40 min. to cook. I made it again and put cooked apples in cinnamon and sugar with it. This worked great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States