Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I have made this recipe four times and I think I have finally perfected it I brown the ribs really well first and then saute the onions in the drippings for a bit. I add everything to the crock pot with two additional ingredients--minced garlic and parmesan cheese. I also cut down on the sugar and add a bit more crushed red perpper. It takes 3-4 hours on low in the crock pot. My husband likes it served with mashed potatoes but I prefer rigatoni--tonight I will serve it with both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
574 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I am a Culinary School graduate and have been in fine dining for a long time. And I have to tell you that this is one of the best Short Rib recipes I have ever made or tasted. It is simple and delicious! It is even better the next day. The the only thing I do different is add Shiitake mushrooms to the mix. And I serve the ribs over garlic mash. Jeremy Melusky AKA KEGCHEF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEGCHEF

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
We like short ribs and I prepare them several times each winter so I am always looking for new. This is an excellent recipe. I have found the best way to reduce the fat content is to oven-brown the short ribs prior to adding to the sauce. Place bone side down in a pan, sesaon with pepper & salt roast for 45 minutes at 450. Drain off fat. If ribs are large return to oven for 15 minutes more. I was reluctant to try this the first time but it's the only way I pre-pare them now. I got over 1/2 cup of fat from the 2 1/2 lbs ribs I used for this recipe. I browned the onions in a dutch oven, added a a couple minced garlic cloves, and about 1/2 broth to the sauce ingredients and then the browned ribs. Baked covered at 325 for 2 1/2 hours. Served with parmesan mashed potatoes. They were moist and succulent. Received rave reviews with request for promise to repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is a great meal!. The only thing I did different was to roast the ribs at 350 for an hour while I made the sauce and let it cook on the stove top. Then I poured off the grease in the roasting pan, poured on the sauce and let it bake in the oven at 325 for 2 more hours and it was wonderful. Will use the left over sauce tonight on meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This recipe was sooo tasty and tender, and easy. I threw in about a cup of dry red wine and 1 chopped celery rib(from another recipe). I would definitely make this again. I used 'no salt' tomato sauce and 1 tsp salt to lower the sodium content some. I also chilled it overnight to skim off the large amount of fat it produces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I followed the advice of others who have reviewed this recipe and browned the short ribs fist. I also added 1/2 cup of red wine to deglaze the pan before adding the sauce ingr. Try this one. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Just so-so. I had to do too much doctoring to this recipe to get a flavorful sauce. Certainly not a memorable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made these last night in my slow cooker for my family and they absolutely loved them. I added 3 cloves of garlic as I put it in everything. Thanks for the great recipe, I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was awesome, awesome, awesome! The only changes I made were using crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and I left out the brown sugar. Oh, did I mention this was AWESOME? This is definitely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Full of flavour and very tender. My husband loved it! Because of the wonderful tomato based sauce, I decided to serve it with pasta. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States