Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This recipe is delicious! My family has never had short ribs before and they loved the sauce. I took the advice of one reviewer and added garlic and just a little parmesan cheese. I also cooked the ribs in a crock pot. Thank you for sharing, we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikita223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was terrific. I followed another reviewers advise and browned the ribs before slow cooking. I also used the left over sauce for pasta. Next time I will omit the salt. Other than that, I will remake exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very tender falling off the bone, excellent. I actually brined the meat for 6-8 hours before i started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Holy Moly! FANTASTIC RECIPE!! Made it in a crock pot and it came out so so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I always try to follow the recipe as is for the rating but I was lacking a few items. But my ribs turned out wonderful! I followed the recipe with these changes - 12 oz tomato sauce, 6 oz beer, didnt have thyme and left out the onion. Cant wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELBABY33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was the first time I made short ribs and they came out very flavorful and tangy. I browned the meat and onions as suggested. My changes were using a can of sauce and a can of stewed tomatoes, a big splash of merlot, lots of garlic and onions and some fresh basil and savory I had growing. I also used blue agave sweetener instead of the sugar and went a little heavy on the red peppers. I added mushrooms and summer squash at the end and it was really delicious. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Seared in pan..sauteed onions in grease, deglazed pan with red wine. Added all ingredients to pan and baked at 300 for a loooonnnggg time. I would probably double the sauce recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy Splitt Donnelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I made these according to the directions and they were really delicious. We had unexpected company at dinner time, luckily it made a big batch and everyone loved them. I usually make short ribs with wine, but I liked these much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Rockaway Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
These were outstanding! I doubled the recipe as we had company for dinner and everybody absolutely raved about these short ribs. Thanks for this easy and delicious recipe - will most definitely make again. For reference - made as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
this was a delicious recipe - i took the advice of ALL the previous cooks, basically i used garlic-paremsian tomato sauce, was not sparing of the brown sugar to avoid acidity, and baked the ribs at 450 for 30 minutes before adding to the sauce mixture to get rid of some fat (my cut of ribs was still fatty, which was disappointing) - but i also added baby bella mushrooms to the sauce, along with the onions that i sauteed in the fat from the short ribs after i baked them. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States