Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Hearty meal that worked well in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
It really is wonderful. :-) I jst made it last night and it came out great!! I browned the ribs on stove top, then sauted the onions in the same pan, then put everything in the slow cooker on slow for 4 hours. Oh, I also poured a little of the red wine we were planning to drink with the dish in the pot. Turned out fantastic and the meat was falling off the bone. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is the first time I made short ribs and I just LOVED this recipe! My husband even loved it, and I plan to make this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Fantastic. Did it all in a cast iron dutch oven. Used fire roasted tomatoes and added a bit of beef stock. The brown sugar did amazing things in the reduction as it cooked low and slow. Served over polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Wonderful flavor! I could just lick the sauce off the plate (and I think I did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
FABULOUS!!I had never made short ribs before, but I was shopping in Whole Foods and they were on sale, so I bought 2 lbs. for my husband and myself. I was a little nervous, but listened to some of the other reviewers and braised them first, then deglazed with red wine. I didn't have any tomato sauce, but had a jar of Bertolli sauce and used that. I will make this again and again and again.....we thought we eating in a restaurant that's how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is the best short ribs we ever had. My husband who is a professional chef admited that this recipe is the best. The longer it sitted in the fridge (as leftovers), the better the taste. We serve this with white rice, steamed broccoli and green beans and sauteed them with olive oil and garlic powder. The meat is falling apart from the bone, so satisfying, and so comforting, we can't get enough. I am making this for family reunion in Christmas instead of having traditional turkey dinner. This is should be the star of the menu. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suliama Valesente

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These short ribs are truly wonderful and my husband and I enjoyed every tender bite! The only thing I changed is prior to starting, I sauteed a few cloves of garlic in olive oil and then browned the ribs on each side. After that, as recommended by one of the other reviewers, I removed the ribs from the pan and sauteed the onions in the remaining oil and drippings. Very scrumptious! I served the ribs over campanelle with brussel sprouts and pancetta on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Received rave reviews tonight for this recipe. I did as someone else suggested and first roasted for 45 minutes at 450. Poured off excess fat and sauteed onions, some finely chopped carrot, garlic and shitake mushrooms. I used Pomi strained tomatoes which seemed a little thick so I added beef broth and baked at 325 for 2 1/2 hours. Had to add another 1/2 cup of broth during the last hour. I used all of the ingredients listed in the recipe. Very tender and tasty and I served over Parmesan mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made this once a few months ago and my family is still asking for me to make it again! Very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarsnaps

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States