Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is the best short ribs we ever had. My husband who is a professional chef admited that this recipe is the best. The longer it sitted in the fridge (as leftovers), the better the taste. We serve this with white rice, steamed broccoli and green beans and sauteed them with olive oil and garlic powder. The meat is falling apart from the bone, so satisfying, and so comforting, we can't get enough. I am making this for family reunion in Christmas instead of having traditional turkey dinner. This is should be the star of the menu. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suliama Valesente

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These short ribs are truly wonderful and my husband and I enjoyed every tender bite! The only thing I changed is prior to starting, I sauteed a few cloves of garlic in olive oil and then browned the ribs on each side. After that, as recommended by one of the other reviewers, I removed the ribs from the pan and sauteed the onions in the remaining oil and drippings. Very scrumptious! I served the ribs over campanelle with brussel sprouts and pancetta on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Received rave reviews tonight for this recipe. I did as someone else suggested and first roasted for 45 minutes at 450. Poured off excess fat and sauteed onions, some finely chopped carrot, garlic and shitake mushrooms. I used Pomi strained tomatoes which seemed a little thick so I added beef broth and baked at 325 for 2 1/2 hours. Had to add another 1/2 cup of broth during the last hour. I used all of the ingredients listed in the recipe. Very tender and tasty and I served over Parmesan mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made this once a few months ago and my family is still asking for me to make it again! Very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarsnaps

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
It's been decades or more, perhaps, since I've made short ribs. Since the meat was on sale today, I decided to give it a go. My mother used to make braised short ribs--a long, long time ago. This was indeed a very simple recipe. I added sliced carrots to the mixe and didn't use parsley, since I didn't have any. My wife generally doesn't like things prepared with tomato sauce but she did like this. I served it over a bed of white rice--the perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious and easy. I followed someone elses suggestion to roast first at 450 for 30 min. Definitely helped with the grease. Also browned the onions in some of the fat, along with 3 cloves of garlic. Then, deglazed the pan with about 1 cup of red wine before adding the sauce. Cooked at 325 for 2.5 hours. Sooo incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
very flavorful and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Awesome! I added a splash of red wine and garlic, served with cheddar grits and collard greens. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher who cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe. I did change a couple of things however. I browned the ribs first. I also added 3 cloves of garlic and half a cup of dry red wine. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
AMAZING!!! Oh these were SO GOOD!!! I seared the ribs in a pan first to get off some of the fat so I wouldn't have to skim it, but that's just me. I love to sear and then braise. I cook A LOT and I will tell you this recipe is EXCELLENT!!! Thank you MEDIVALU! I will definitely be making it again. .. and again... and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States