Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I will definitely make this again. I read a lot of the reviews and did change it up some. I seasoned the meat with salt, pepper and Mrs. Dash and seared the meat in olive oil. I took the meat out and added onions and cooked until softened then I added fresh garlic and cooked for a minute or two. Then I added about a half cup of beef broth and deglazed the pan. Then I added the sauce, sugar and spices and let cook for about 5 minutes. I then added the meat to a baking dish then covered it with the sauce and baked on 325 for 2 hours. The meat was so tender and the sauce was amazing. I served with garlic mashed potatoes, steamed broccoli and garlic cheddar biscuits. This was an awesome meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Awesome Recipe! I have never cooked short ribs until today. Whole Foods had a sale on them about two weeks ago and I decided to try them. I pulled them out of the freezer last night and cooked them today. I did as many of the other reviewers suggested and browned the short ribs. I also added the red wine and garlic. I did not have tomato sauces so I substituted diced tomatoes, but followed the recipe for the remaining ingredients. The meat fell off the bones and was full of flavor. My husband loved it and I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I browned the short ribs in a 10 inch cast iron skillet. I removed the short ribs and caramelized the onions in the skillet. I returned the short ribs to the skillet, added the other ingredients with 10 cloves of garlic, a teaspoon of chile chipotle flakes, eight small bell peppers, an Anaheim pepper, two parsnips, and three carrots cut up into bite sized pieces. They were in the oven at 350 degrees F for about 4 hours before I served them. Four pounds of short ribs along with 3 large heads of broccoli, a loaf of bread, and several bowls of squash soup were cleaned up by 4 adults and a very hungry teenage boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I was a little skeptical with lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce, but measured it all out and included the suggestions of a little less brown sugar (1 1/2 tbsp) and minced garlic. I split the tomato sauce into 1 14.5 ounce can and a 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes. I browned the ribs (choice meat, go for the higher grade if you can) seasoned with salt and pepper for 30 minutes at 450 degrees and let them rest about an hour. I think this helped keep the meat from falling apart. I sauteed the onion and garlic, then added the herbs and tomatoes, just to bubbling, then into the crock pot 2 hours on high, 2 hours on low, and an hour on warm. There was some fat to skim off, but not too much. I served this with penne pasta and grated Romano Cheese. Fork tender! With the leftovers I will dice the meat, add beef stock, carrots and peas and have a great soup for lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Really disappointed since there were so many positive reviews. Followed the recipe exactly except to brown ribs as suggested by others. No one in my family liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe turned out wonderful. I don't even like bbq sauce and this sauce was delicious and my son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I just made this tonight and it was excellent, I served it over penne. I don't make changes to the recipes I find here mainly because I can't cook; I can read, so I just follow directions. Unfortunately, I had no tomato sauce so I used a combo of beef stock (1 of those little tubs from Knorr) and diced tomatoes. Not sure if that was suitable sub but it did taste good. I also browned the ribs first but other than that I followed recipe and cooking method. Thank you for submitting this I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Absolutely wonderful!" Cooked almost 10 lbs of short ribs for 4 of us...cannot wait for leftovers tomorrow night:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
My husband, myself AND our 2 year old all cleaned our plates...now that's saying something! It was delicious! My 2 year old was shoveling it in which does a mom's heart good! I followed the recipe exactly with the only exception of browning the ribs before hand as suggested by many other reviewers. We ate it with white sticky rice and just raved the whole time we ate it! Will definitely make this again...easy, delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This ranks right up there with one of the best recipes on the site. This is hands down restaurant worthy at half the price and super easy. The only change I made was to brown the meat in EVOO and then put the onions in the meat drippings. Added all the rest in the exact quantities. SOOOO good. Thanks for sharing. I will make this again. I wanted to update. I only had one small can of tomato sauce but I had a large can of Trader Joe's marinara sauce and decided to go with that. It turned out just as good. The other thing I will add is the longer you can cook this the better it is. I like it best when it cooks for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States