Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I have made this recipe four times and I think I have finally perfected it I brown the ribs really well first and then saute the onions in the drippings for a bit. I add everything to the crock pot with two additional ingredients--minced garlic and parmesan cheese. I also cut down on the sugar and add a bit more crushed red perpper. It takes 3-4 hours on low in the crock pot. My husband likes it served with mashed potatoes but I prefer rigatoni--tonight I will serve it with both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
577 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I am a Culinary School graduate and have been in fine dining for a long time. And I have to tell you that this is one of the best Short Rib recipes I have ever made or tasted. It is simple and delicious! It is even better the next day. The the only thing I do different is add Shiitake mushrooms to the mix. And I serve the ribs over garlic mash. Jeremy Melusky AKA KEGCHEF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEGCHEF

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
We like short ribs and I prepare them several times each winter so I am always looking for new. This is an excellent recipe. I have found the best way to reduce the fat content is to oven-brown the short ribs prior to adding to the sauce. Place bone side down in a pan, sesaon with pepper & salt roast for 45 minutes at 450. Drain off fat. If ribs are large return to oven for 15 minutes more. I was reluctant to try this the first time but it's the only way I pre-pare them now. I got over 1/2 cup of fat from the 2 1/2 lbs ribs I used for this recipe. I browned the onions in a dutch oven, added a a couple minced garlic cloves, and about 1/2 broth to the sauce ingredients and then the browned ribs. Baked covered at 325 for 2 1/2 hours. Served with parmesan mashed potatoes. They were moist and succulent. Received rave reviews with request for promise to repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is a great meal!. The only thing I did different was to roast the ribs at 350 for an hour while I made the sauce and let it cook on the stove top. Then I poured off the grease in the roasting pan, poured on the sauce and let it bake in the oven at 325 for 2 more hours and it was wonderful. Will use the left over sauce tonight on meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This recipe was sooo tasty and tender, and easy. I threw in about a cup of dry red wine and 1 chopped celery rib(from another recipe). I would definitely make this again. I used 'no salt' tomato sauce and 1 tsp salt to lower the sodium content some. I also chilled it overnight to skim off the large amount of fat it produces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I followed the advice of others who have reviewed this recipe and browned the short ribs fist. I also added 1/2 cup of red wine to deglaze the pan before adding the sauce ingr. Try this one. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made these last night in my slow cooker for my family and they absolutely loved them. I added 3 cloves of garlic as I put it in everything. Thanks for the great recipe, I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was awesome, awesome, awesome! The only changes I made were using crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and I left out the brown sugar. Oh, did I mention this was AWESOME? This is definitely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Just so-so. I had to do too much doctoring to this recipe to get a flavorful sauce. Certainly not a memorable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Full of flavour and very tender. My husband loved it! Because of the wonderful tomato based sauce, I decided to serve it with pasta. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States