Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is awesome! All I had on hand was Pasta sauce, but even with that substitution my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This recipe was definitely a keeper! I followed advice of some and dredged the meat in flour and browned it first, also added 1 cup of dry red wine. DELISH!!! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Served this over noodles, made a freezer meal with additional ingredients by combining all raw ingredients together in one freezer bag with instructions to thaw and place in crock pot on high for 4 hours. Thanks! Edit: This is really good. I've made it with a pork roast instead of ribs and it turned out really well. This is a great freezer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I loved this recipe, especially because it is very versatile. I can't eat worcestershire (because of the soy), thyme or onions. So I subbed tamarind paste and vinegar for the worcestershire; basil for the thyme; and some chopped green pepper and fennel bulb (about the same amount total as a medium onion). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
They were great. Doubled meat to meet our family size. Plenty of sauce left over. Also browned ribs with flour/garlic salt/ pepper dredge. Added light cream to sauce at end and served over pasta. Everyone enjoyed it even my 3 boys-8,7, & 3. Saving this recipe to try with swiss steak. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Great recipe! Used 28oz of crushed tomatoes, omitted lemon juice and parsley b/c didn't have any, added extra 1/2tsp red pepper flakes. Seared ribs first, removed from pan and sauteed onions and 2 cloves minced garlic. Deglazed pan with 1/4 cup red wine, and added everything to crockpot. Cooked for 4.5 hours on high. Deliciously tender! The gravy tastes amazing, we served it with mashed potatoes. This recipe is still getting raving reviews from kids & adults! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
LOVE love love this recipe...will probably work well with brisket too. Paired with roast new potatoes and green beans, mmm mmm good! I did add a smidge of red wine, per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
My husband and I made these and they were wonderful!!!! We followed many of the suggestions. We seasoned the ribs with salt, and pepper and then lightly floured prior to browing them in a dutch oven. After they were browned we removed them from the dutch oven and added diced onion, carrot, celery, about 6 - 8 cloves of garlic minced and green peppers. We used Red Wine in place of the lemon juice. I also didn't have tomato sauce but did have ground tomatos which worked great. After the Vegtables were all tender is when I added the rest of the ingredients. Once the sauce was done I put the ribs back in the Dutch Oven and placed it in a 300 degree oven for 45 minutes, then decreased the temp to 250 and cooked for another 2 hours and 30 minutes. They were so tender and the sauce was just amazing! The next night we browned some thin pork chops and used the remaining sauce and simmered them on the stove top for about 45 minutes they too came out wonderful. This recipe is a definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise Leonard Tiedeken

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Best thing I've ever done with my short ribs! I put them in the oven for 45 @ 350 before adding the sauce and baking them @ 325 for 2 hours. also replaced the lemon juice with 1/2 cup red wine. Served over brown rice, WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Terrible :( Way too sweet and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States