Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made this once a few months ago and my family is still asking for me to make it again! Very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarsnaps

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
It's been decades or more, perhaps, since I've made short ribs. Since the meat was on sale today, I decided to give it a go. My mother used to make braised short ribs--a long, long time ago. This was indeed a very simple recipe. I added sliced carrots to the mixe and didn't use parsley, since I didn't have any. My wife generally doesn't like things prepared with tomato sauce but she did like this. I served it over a bed of white rice--the perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious and easy. I followed someone elses suggestion to roast first at 450 for 30 min. Definitely helped with the grease. Also browned the onions in some of the fat, along with 3 cloves of garlic. Then, deglazed the pan with about 1 cup of red wine before adding the sauce. Cooked at 325 for 2.5 hours. Sooo incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
very flavorful and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Awesome! I added a splash of red wine and garlic, served with cheddar grits and collard greens. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher who cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe. I did change a couple of things however. I browned the ribs first. I also added 3 cloves of garlic and half a cup of dry red wine. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
AMAZING!!! Oh these were SO GOOD!!! I seared the ribs in a pan first to get off some of the fat so I wouldn't have to skim it, but that's just me. I love to sear and then braise. I cook A LOT and I will tell you this recipe is EXCELLENT!!! Thank you MEDIVALU! I will definitely be making it again. .. and again... and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
- BROWN SUGAR - PARSLEY + MOLASSES +OREGANO +MEDIUM SALSA I thought it was a bit sweet first time around, so I substituted molasses for the brown sugar. More of a subtle flavoring. The salsa adds a bit of a tang to the sauce. I also seared the ribs first and sautee'd the onions. Crushed the bay leaves and leave them in when served. A couple hours at medium heat in the oven in a foil covered glass casserole works for me. I mix everything but the molasses - the ribs go in the casserole, then the sauce mix, then the molasses gets dribbled on top. Last half hour I remove the foil so it browns and candies on top. A good side dish is summer squash. Brown them in the oven, then scoop the sauce from the meat into them. A bit of grated cheese on top is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is a great recipe. I browned the ribs first tho and added a cup of pinot noir because there wasn't enough liquid. I served it over chiocoli egg noodles and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States