Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
These were fantastic! I did brown them first and then cooked the onions a bit and used less salt. But they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
So delicious! I made this for dinner last night. Followed the recipe. I had considered pre-cooking the ribs as others did to reduce some of the fat from the ribs, but decided to follow the recipe. Also, considered adding garlic, as others did as I too love garlic, but again, thought, just try it as written and adjust next time, if need be. The only change I made was due to pantry stocking. I used tomato purée instead of sauce. I wouldn't change a thing. Some cut the sugar or thought it was too spicy, etc. The purée I used was unseasoned and the seasoning in the recipe was perfect. Happy I did not make changes, won't next either, except for using the purée because why mess with success? 5 stars and a big thank you to MEDIVALU for sharing this keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Incredible! I also made the Chipotle Grilled Shrimp recipe I found on here, along with roasted red potatoes. I poured the tomato sauce over everything and it was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yummmm! I adapted this to my slow cooker. I used crushed tomatoes because I had them on hand, and reduced the pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon (plenty of spice for our taste). I roasted the ribs in the oven at 350 for 45 min then transferred them to the slow cooker. I then sauteed the onion rings in some of the grease from the meat along with the scraped brown stuff from the oven pan and 2 teaspoon minced garlic. I put the onions over the meat and the heated sauce over the onions. Cooked on low for 8 hours, then it sat on warm for another 2 hours. Served over rice. Awesome taste and tender, moist meat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
4.5 stars, the sauce was amazing, I followed other reviewers and browned the ribs first then sauteed some onions, carrots and garlic, and red pepper flakes. Removed everything from pot deglazed with red wine. Instead of tomato sauce I used canned cherry tomatoes. I put in a 325 oven for 3 hours. The meat was really tender, served over rigatoni with fresh grated parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe - I made it exactly as written and my famly loved it !!! I served it with white cheddar mashed potatoes and steamed vegatables - this recipe is "Company Fare" but simple enough for a delicious weekday dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I just made these for the 4th time. Wonderful is right! Everyone that tries them ends up taking the recipe home. I did change a few things. I brown the ribs first, set aside and make the sauce. I use fire roasted tomatoes and 1/2 a cup of beef broth ( red wine works well too). I then stick it all in the oven (covered) rather than on the stove for 2.5-3 hours at 325. Fall apart tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Great recipe! I followed it exactly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These ribs turned out great. I followed the recipe exact except for browning the ribs beforehand and deglazing the pan with red wine. I served it with "no yolk" noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States