Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This ranks right up there with one of the best recipes on the site. This is hands down restaurant worthy at half the price and super easy. The only change I made was to brown the meat in EVOO and then put the onions in the meat drippings. Added all the rest in the exact quantities. SOOOO good. Thanks for sharing. I will make this again. I wanted to update. I only had one small can of tomato sauce but I had a large can of Trader Joe's marinara sauce and decided to go with that. It turned out just as good. The other thing I will add is the longer you can cook this the better it is. I like it best when it cooks for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight and my family loves it, I followed others who suggested trimming off the fat and brown the ribs first, then I skimmed off the fat while it cooked. Excellent recipe for short ribs. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Tried this recipe with a few modification. Browned the short ribs first and lightly cooked onions in same pan. Mixed sauce in another pan until it came to a light boil. Then put ribs in roasting pan, put onions and sauce on top, covered, and put in oven at 300° for about three hours. Came out great, my family loved it. Almost same as original recipe, but using oven let me do other things and not worry about until it finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Excellent and easy!You don't have to spend all day in the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tophat24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
OMG!!!! This was AWESOME! The flavor and tenderness of the meat was delish. But you do have to SLIM THE FAT!!! What I did different was I boiled the ribs in water for 30 min. prior to cooking them in the tomato sauce. Other than that I followed the recipe to the 'T'. I served it over creamy mashed potatoes. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very good. Followed other suggestions and baked off some fat before hand. Only had about 1 tbsp of parsley, but didn't find it to make much difference anyhow. Loved the body of the sauce and so did my toddler son. Will definately make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Very good! Like some reviewers, I browned the meat, cut sugar to 1 tbsp, sauteed onions and garlic before adding other ingredients and added 1 14.5 oz can of beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Great way to prepare short ribs. the gravy is absolutely delicious. I did brown the ribs before adding to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I used boneless short ribs and they were AWESOME. Super-tender and very flavorful. I couldn't find my thyme so used tarragon and a bit of sage instead. I only used 1/2 tsp of pepper flakes and it was a bit much for me. Yes, I know I'm a lightweight… LOL. My husband could have had it hotter so go figure. This is much better the next day, and yes, skimming the fat is easier that way. Like other reviewers I browned the meat first and then sautéed the onions in the drippings. Great recipe, MEDIVALU, thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Incredible!! I did add a tablespoon of minced garlic and I cooked them in the slow cooker for 4 hours (had to leave and couldn't watch them on the stove). They were SO good served with pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emkat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parchman, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States