Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This one just didnt work out for me...I didnt care for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
just made this tonight -- truly amazing! baked at high heat (450) for 20 mins, then added sauce, covered, lowered heat to 325 for 2.5 hrs. absolutely delish! Rave reviews from kids and adults!! definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This rib recipe was yummy. My 6 year old asked me to make it again-that's a winner in my book. I did take the advice of other reviewers and bake the ribs for about 1/2 hour at 450 to brown them, then into the oven at 325 for 2 1/2 hours and the meat fell right off the bone. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
"Restaurant quality" was my husband's response. These are a bit spicy and very tangy. I first cooked the ribs in a 375 oven for about an hour, then drained the fat. Added the sauce next, covered and baked at 300 for 2 1/2 hours. I had to thin the sauce a bit with water. I served with garlic mashed potato and extra pan juices. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These short ribs were a winner! I'll make them again for sure. Next time, I will trim off some of the fat so it won't be so fatty. Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Good recipe, easy and full of flavor. I agree with other reviewers this cut of meat is too fatty; would have been better with country style ribs. I did brown the ribs beforehand and deglazed with red wine, I also slow cooked on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was weird. I followed the recipe but I guess the tomato sauce flavor we didn't care for. The cooking method did make it tender. Ended up ordering pizza :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by desiree2245
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
These were so good! I admit I was a little leery at first because I am a Southern girl and like my ribs with bbq sauce but this was a nice change. I browned my ribs, deglazed with a little red wine, sauteed the onions, and then finished preparing the sauce in the same skillet. The only other thing I added was some garlic. I put my ribs in a crock pot and then covered them in this sauce. I cooked them for 3 hours. I also made some rigatoni and added the extra sauce from the ribs to them. It was the perfect side to these ribs. I also did some roasted potatoes that I quartered and sprinkled with the same dry seasonings that were used in the sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Although DH really liked this recipe, I feel that there was something missing, and I normally really like shortribs. I would make it again but I'd have to check out other recipes to see what's different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very good. I stuck with the recipe except for I started by searing them off in a hot oven for 20 minutes or so, then tranferred to a crock pot for the rest of the time. Turned out delicious and I didn't have to watch over them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States