Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These short ribs were a winner! I'll make them again for sure. Next time, I will trim off some of the fat so it won't be so fatty. Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Good recipe, easy and full of flavor. I agree with other reviewers this cut of meat is too fatty; would have been better with country style ribs. I did brown the ribs beforehand and deglazed with red wine, I also slow cooked on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was weird. I followed the recipe but I guess the tomato sauce flavor we didn't care for. The cooking method did make it tender. Ended up ordering pizza :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by desiree2245
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
These were so good! I admit I was a little leery at first because I am a Southern girl and like my ribs with bbq sauce but this was a nice change. I browned my ribs, deglazed with a little red wine, sauteed the onions, and then finished preparing the sauce in the same skillet. The only other thing I added was some garlic. I put my ribs in a crock pot and then covered them in this sauce. I cooked them for 3 hours. I also made some rigatoni and added the extra sauce from the ribs to them. It was the perfect side to these ribs. I also did some roasted potatoes that I quartered and sprinkled with the same dry seasonings that were used in the sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Although DH really liked this recipe, I feel that there was something missing, and I normally really like shortribs. I would make it again but I'd have to check out other recipes to see what's different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very good. I stuck with the recipe except for I started by searing them off in a hot oven for 20 minutes or so, then tranferred to a crock pot for the rest of the time. Turned out delicious and I didn't have to watch over them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Excellent with a few minor changes. I used a slow cooker - 6 hours on low. I also browned the ribs first and sauteed the onions in the drippings. For the suace, I substibuted 28 oz can of diced tomato and cut the suace to 12 oz. I also added a cup of fresh mushrooms during the last 90 minutes in the slow cooker. Excellent over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very good; my husband loved it. Made a few changes to fit what I had on hand: used boneless short ribs; browning them in saute pan before beginning the sauce. Used can diced tomato instead of sauce. Did not use thyme, bay leaf or crushed red pepper as we do not care for them. Increased brown sugar by 1 tablespoon; added 1 tsp red wine vinegar, 1/4 cup catsup and 2 cloves of garlic. Brought to a boil and simmered for 5 minutes. Transferred to a baking dish w/ tight fitting lid; tossed in a handful of baby carrots, and baked for 3 hours in a 300 oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I have never had short ribs before, let alone cook them. They really do have a great flavor. I put all of the ingredients in a slow cooker and cooked on low for about 8-9 hours (during work). Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I just made this tonight and it turned out really good. My 5 year asked for a second helping. I browned the meat and baked it in the oven at 400 degrees for 1 hour. I used one large jar of Prego organic tomato sauce and cut up 2 small tomatoes to make it more chunky. I used 3 tbsp of brown sugar. I cooked it all on the stove for 1.5 hours. I impressed myself because I've never made ribs before. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States