Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These turned out really good. I browned them and put everything in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This recipe is very easy and delicious! I followed the advice and first browned the short ribs in the oven for 1/2 hr. at 475, then added 2 cloves of fresh garlic, and a 15 oz. can of Rotel tomatoes to the sauce, then put it all in the crock pot for 4 hrs. on hi. Meat was very tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fenwick Island, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This is really delicious. I followed advice and browned the short ribs first. I loved the sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonibella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is the best beef rib recipe I have discovered. Tasty stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe. It's a simple preparation and yields a nice slow cooked taste. I needed to simmer it for closer to 3 hours to get the tenderness I desired. The only issue is inherent to any recipe using short ribs. It's a very fatty piece of meat. But we were very pleased with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Great recipe. I found it best to use the boneless short ribs sold at Costco. They also have much less fat. The suggestions to sear the short ribs first is a good one and also addinbg garlic is a must. Also if desired adding mushrooms and some root veggies add to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stanbldr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
the only negative thing that i have to say about this recipe is that it's probably horrible for you, BUT it is so delicious that i'll overlook that for an evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyNewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
We loved this. Bought a 4lb pack of short ribs from Sam's Club and scaled to recipe up to 8 portions. Was falling off the bone in 2 1/2 hours and made a wonderful gravy. We served with mashed potatoes. This is a keeper for sure. Only wish our ribs would've been meatier. Wonder if you could use another cut of meat? Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is the first short rib recipe I've tried with a red sauce, and it turned out great! The only thing I did differently was to add fresh chopped garlic and fresh ground pepper. We also thought it would have been even better with one more onion. Overall a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberjoih

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North East, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Instead of using tomato sauce, I used fresh tomatoes. I roasted the tomatoes (I used 5) at 350 for 30 minutes, this will put some "flavor" in the tomatoes. Then, you put the tomatoes in the blender and add a splash of Worcestershire sauce (in addition to what is already in the recipe). This was delicious! Of course, this greatly increases the "prep" time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States