Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was my first try at short ribs - and they were Wonderful! I made the recipe as instructed, but had to limit cook time to 2 hours total (recipe heading says 2 hrs, but directions say 2 1/2 hrs). I also took the cover off during the last 30 minutes to thicken up the sauce. The meat was tender enough, but would probably have been even more so with additional cook time. I will definitely try this one again to find out! I served it with roasted butternut squash and broccoli, but the amount of sauce produced needs something to soak it up - maybe pasta, brown rice or spaghetti squash?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This one's a keeper! My teenagers and hubby loved this recipe. The only change I made was to braise off the ribs first. The meat was extremely tender and the sauce was delicious and plentiful. In fact the sauce was so good that I'm going to try to experiment with it to create a sausage and pepper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Terrific, easy meal. I browned the meat quickly over high heat, then removed the ribs from the pan, and added all other ingredients to the same pan to make the sauce. I put the ribs back in, cooked on low for 2 1/2 hours, and served it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Great recipe! I'll be making it again and again. It makes a truly amazing sauce as it cooks. I've used it for rice and pasta, next will use with mashed potatoes. I'm thinking this would be a good recipe for a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These are the best I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
i happened to have some roasted tomato chutney that I threw in, and we loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was a good recipe and i only changed one thing, i used diced tomatos instead of can tomato sauce. i will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I agree that this was awesome! I've never made short ribs before, so I desperately needed a recipe. The only change I made was that I used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce - and that only because I didn't have any tomato sauce. Even my mum, who is not a fan of ribs, thought it was great. Really easy, too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This recipe is great and so easy. The short ribs are even more delicious the next day. The first time I had short ribs I made this recipe and now I am hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinAndTonic1231

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
These were very good and received good comments from my family. I am not usually a person to review a recipe I've changed, but I could not find beef short ribs so I used bone-in country pork ribs and it was still very delicious. I will make this again most someday, although we don't eat ribs except maybe once a year. It was very savory and hearty. We ate them with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States