Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This recipe is great and so easy. The short ribs are even more delicious the next day. The first time I had short ribs I made this recipe and now I am hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
These were very good and received good comments from my family. I am not usually a person to review a recipe I've changed, but I could not find beef short ribs so I used bone-in country pork ribs and it was still very delicious. I will make this again most someday, although we don't eat ribs except maybe once a year. It was very savory and hearty. We ate them with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe, especially when taking the advice of every other review. Here are the things I added/changed: I added carrots, celery, 1/2 cup of dry red wine and three minced garlic cloves to the recipe. I browned the short ribs & onions first on the stove top before adding to the sauce. I substituted the tomato sauce with stewed/crushed tomatos. We also added flour in at the end to thicken up the sauce. It was almost a gravy consistency. It turned out fantastic! I highly recommend adding your touch to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a keeper. I browned the ribs and sauted the garlic and onions, then put everything in the crock pot on low of 8 hours. The meat was falling off the bones. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I followed the ingredients, substituting boneless short ribs for bone-in, white vinegar for lemon juice, 1/3 tsp ground thyme for dried thyme, 1/2 tsp ground red pepper for flakes, and garlic powder for minced garlic. I also added 15 oz can diced tomatoes. I baked ribs at 475 degrees for 30 minutes as someone suggested, and then put in crockpot for 5 hours. YUMMY! with garlic mashed potatoes. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This recipe is very good but it was a bit salty. I will make some adjustments and definitely use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piercedambition

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
The sauce for these ribs is wonderful. I baked in oven to try to remove as much fat before putting in crock pot with sauce. I'm not a big rib eater, but was getting rid of the ribs that came with the purchase of 1/2 a side of beef. There was just too much fat on the ribs for my taste, but that could have been just these ribs. I will definately try again with a better cut of ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H0neybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I'm making this now and even though the meat isn't done yet, the sauce is amazing! I love it! Didn't have red pepper flakes or parsley, and I had to add some beef broth because the sauce cooked down, but the flavor is so good!. I'll make this again with different cuts of meat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
These melted in my mouth. I did add holy trinity and red wine. And put them in the crockpot for 4 hours. Then broiled them until the fat was crispy. OMG... I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was really good, although I don't know how to fairly rate it since I changed things quite a bit. I used the tomato sauce, parsley, thyme, and bay leaves, but I added 15 oz chicken stock. I seared the short ribs and then sauteed a mirepoix (carrots, onion, celery) and shitake mushrooms in the drippings. I then put everything in the oven at 300 degrees for 4 hours. The meat just melted in your mouth by then. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States