Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Loved this recipe, delicious! I sear the meat first, remove and sauté onion and garlic in the drippings, deglaze with a little water. Then add remaining ingredients. cook in the oven 2-3 hours until the meat falls off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this recipe as written, for the most part. I did take the advice of others and baked them in the oven first to try and reduce the fat. I poured off quite a bit. I also added mushrooms and carrots, omitted the bay leaves, and added about 1/2 cup red wine & cooked all in the crock pot on high for about 4 hours. The sauce came out perfect. I am rating it based on the comments of my family. I do not care for beef and this was much too fatty for me. Considering how high in calories and fat this dish is, I am surprised by some of the comments about how often they make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this tonight following the recipe as instructed (added 2 cloves of garlic) and it was fabulous. We served the sauce over the meat and rigatoni and had a nice side salad. We topped our pasta with parmesan cheese. I only wish I had some crusty French bread to soak up more sauce. This will be our go-to short rib recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
The flavor of the braising sauce was very good - I am trying to avoid sugar whenever possible, so I chopped up a carrot for some sweetness instead of the sugar, but other than that, I followed the recipe. So five stars for flavor and tenderness, but I think I am just not a huge fan of short ribs as a cut of meat. Maybe I did not prep them correctly, but the amount of fat and the connective tissue was just off-putting to me. I ended up taking everything off the bone and trying to get all the gristly stuff out of the pot, then I just shredded everything and saved it for dinner the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
What a great recipe! So easy and with ingredients I have on hand. Made it as stated and it was wonderful. I thought it would be greasy cooking it all together but it wasn't. Will definitely make again, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I have made this several times and it is one of our favorite meals. I do brown the meat beforehand and it comes out great. It is a very easy recipe to make and so so tasty! The sauce is great over rice or even mashed potatoes. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I seared the short ribs first, removed them, then started with the onions. That's the only thing I did differently. This is delicious with just a little kick from the red pepper. I served them over quinoa, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rural chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Iuka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Loved it so much going to try it for a dinner party of 16!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States