Wonderful Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by usafmedic143
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I thought that the meatloaf was good. There were some good flavors. I wasn't too sure about the rice at first, wasn't sure if I was going to enjoy the texture, but in the end it turned out good. I did make one change. Rather than topping it off with ketchup, I topped it off with spicy BBQ sauce, gave it just that little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafmedic143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Mine didn't fall apart at all, I did add worsershire, garlic and italian seasoning to give it some flavor. My hubby said it was the best meatloaf he has had (and he is not a fan of meatloaf!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Does fall apart even if you use an egg, but still really good tasting. I made this for a gluten free friend and he really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
A decent recipe. Definitly needs an egg added to help hold it together. I added brown sugar to the ketchup topping as well and salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~X~
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I thought it was OK. I found the amont of onion to be a little too much. I followed recommendations and added 1/4 cup bread crumbs and one egg, but it was still falling apart a bit, so next time I might add less onion or 2 eggs. Also, I might add a bit of salt and pepper and possibly 1/2 TBSP of worcestershire sauce as it was lacking a bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~X~

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I like to bake it in muffin cups. Just press into muffin cups and bake at 350 for about 25 minutes. Wait until last 10 minutes before adding about a tablespoon of ketchup or chili sauce on top of each one. Tastes like stuffed peppers without the peppers. Delicious! They usually pop out easily but if the beef is lean I would spray with cooking spray first. I also have substituted about a third cup of raw minute rice when cooked rice is not available - and I add an egg to help it hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Add seasonings (garlic powder, onion powder) for a better taste and flour to keep the loaf from falling apart. The rice really absorbs the juices from the meat and becomes soggy. This is an easy fix if you work flour into the mixture. A very good meatloaf, overall. The second time making this I added diced and drained canned tomatoes and diced green peppers along with garlic and onion powder. Topped it with BBQ sauce and it was phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I'm not usually a big meatloaf fan, in fact I had never made meatloaf before. I had some ground beef and started looking for a recipe other than the usual cheeseburger recipe and ran across this meatloaf. I had all the ingredients readily available so I decided what the heck! I was going to give it a try! I took into consideration some of what the other reviewers wrote, so I followed the directions as written using 93% ground beef, brown rice and Splenda brown sugar blend, then I threw in one egg and a handful of leftover saltine crackers. I was concerned that it was going to be bland since the recipe doesn't call for any salt, but I didn't add any since I had thrown in the crackers. While it was cooking, the house smelled great! When I took it out of the oven it looked perfect and sliced up beautifully. I served it with mashed potatoes and corn. That meatloaf was SOOOO good that I couldn't wait to have leftovers the next night! I was almost dreaming about it it was so good! I will absolutely make this meatloaf again. It was super easy and super tasty! I am now officially a meatloaf lover! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My family LOVED this recipie. I did a 1/2 hamburger & 1/2 venision and instead of the rice I used almost 3/4 cup crushed Ritz cracker instead. Plus I did not put all the added ketchup on top (I get heartburn easy) and it was great. This is a keeper for my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Geneva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
this tasted good yet the rice made it very very mushy i could tell while mixing it so i added a cup of bread crumgs and 1/2 pound more meat so it wasnt so much rice but it just fell apart to mush when cutting it...i will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States