Wonderful Gluten Free White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
hello i have not tried this recipe yet. i have made two gluten free bread recipes before, and they both turned out really horrible. would you have any tricks or hints on how to make gluten free bread turn out better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this today. First try for gluten free bread. I thought it was great. The only change I made was coconut oil in place of vegetable oil. I did as one reviewer suggested and put my oven on warm for a few minutes and than shut it off. When the dough was just over the top of the bread pan (I used a 10"x6" loaf pan) in abt 1 hr. I than left the pan in the oven and increased the temp to 375. Once it hit that temp, I timed it for 25 minutes. It is a dense bread, but did not come out doughy. Made it for me due to my gluten sensitivity but my husband has been eating it all! Will definitely make again. Would love to know if this can be doubled. Anyone try?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Really good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madara Assous

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe twice, to the letter, and my bread turned out horrible. It was holey and lumpy, not a nice texture at all, and overall looked like a child did it. I'm sure it was something I did wrong. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Donohoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was so easy to make. It sliced well and tasted wonderful until I got to the center of the loaf and found it was raw. The entire center was dough! I will try it again with a lower oven temperature so that it bakes more slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
We are wheat free but not gluten free so I used buck wheat, spelt flours and arrowroot starch when I made this recipe, or was best bread we've had in a very long time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Delicious! Even my very picky daughter loved it. The texture is wonderful! It's as close to traditional bread as I've had since I going gluten free. I found the first loaf I made to be too salty and it had a slight aftertaste, so I modified it a bit. I used 1 Tablespoon of sugar and 2 Tablespoons of honey, which gave it a better flavor. I also reduced the salt slightly to only 1 teaspoon. I baked it in the bread machine using the express bake setting for a 1.5 pound loaf. That was too dense and moist(but still delicious), so next time I'll try the 2 pound setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe. Soft, spongy, and a tastes like regular white wheat bread. We are no longer going to buy the expensive gluten free breads from the store, this tastes much better. I imagine you can add other grains to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ksaystalk2me
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I think I like this better than regular bread! All my kids liked it. Even my picky son devoured his!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
It was incredibly dense - almost the consistency of biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States