Wonderful Gluten Free White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shelle
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This gluten free recipe for white bread is simply delicious. This was the first "yeast" recipe for gluten free bread that I have made. Found it to be simple and straight forward. The only change was using brown rice flour since I had no white rice flour. I stronly suggest the use of a stand mixer with the bread blade since gluten free dough is much more sticky than traditional yeast bread doughs. The bread holds up very well for sandwiches and makes a wonderful toast for breakfast. I like very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie O
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I made this bread several days ago and WOW! As much as I LOVE to bake, I've never ventured into baking with yeast (probably because I don't ever remember my mother making anything with it), it made me nervous so for years I had used a bread machine. The bread machine was given away 2yrs ago when I down-sized and moved to a place with nil-to-none counter space. Several months ago I went wheat-free and one of the things I missed a lot was bread (It just wasn't worth $5+ to buy a loaf). I came across this recipe about a month ago and it sounded pretty simple so I saved it and vowed to try it after the holidays. I'm thrilled that I did!! It is so easy to make. It slices well, toasts well, and freezes well! I sliced the whole loaf the day after I made it and but it in a freezer bag and stuck it in the freezer. I was afraid it would mold faster than I/we would eat it; my teens aren't as madly in love with it as me but are thankful to have the option of bread again. It freezes well, I just take it out by the slice and either toast it or just let it sit for about 10min to thaw. The consistency is different than regular bread because the gluten isn't there but it IS good! I made it exactly as written. It's a batter bread as opposed to a dough bread, which is what makes it soooo easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've been gluten free for close to two years now. I've always bought Udi's bread, which is ok, but not anything really great. I then bought bread that was $8 a loaf. It felt wet and it was just gross. So this was my first attempt ever making Gluten Free bread because I've been trying to get a feel for baking again. Well, I can tell you this recipe is worth a shot. Most people who have celiac are allergic to soy and diary, so this was nice because I didn't have to try and sub anything. I made this bread and I only added baking powder, 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp. My daughter and I (GF) thought this was great and so good. It doesn't look like normal bread dough, it has a very wet look. Don't mess with it. I'll never buy bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was wonderful! We have only been GF for 3 weeks, but REALLY missed bread the most. We found it a little salty, but our taste buds have not really adjusted to more healthy, lower suger options yet. Next loaf, I am going to cut the salt to 1/2 tsp, and add 1 more Tbsp of sugar to the dry ingredients. (not the yeast water) for maybe a little sweeter taste. I got lucky and found this recipe after only two other disastrous ones that went to the 4 doggies. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Searched for gluten free bread recipe and this is a keeper! Very quick and easy to make. Like the taste. Makes good sandwich bread and is also good toasted. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This has a pleasant flavor and good consistency on the first day to day and a half. It gets crumbly as it gets to the second day, but it still tastes good. Everyone enjoyed it, even though only one of us is celiac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made this recipe today just as it was written an I am really happy with it. I have been gluten free for a few months now and was really frustrated with the dry cardboard texture of GF breads sold in stores. They all toast ok but not for a sandwich. I will make this again!! next time add some garlic/onion salt for a twist. wonder how it would hold up for buns or in english muffin rings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This recipe makes wonderful tasting, fluffy bread that tastes like "normal" bread! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
My 8 y/o daughter has Celiac Disease, newly diagnosed. She has been so easy to please, but school lunch has been very bland. This bread was easy and delicious! I followed it exactly with the exception of using fast rising yeast just shy of a TBS because that was all I had, and using a slightly smaller loaf pan to make up for the lack of yeast. It came out GREAT! Sliced and froze individual slices wrapped in wax paper. ****I just made it for about the 20th time and substituted tapioca flour for the sorghum (only because I was almost out) and it resulted in an even softer, spongier slice :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe. Soft and chewy. I substituted with gf all purpose.. I also substituted 2T honey for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States