Wonderful Gluten Free White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Made this for my gluten intolerant Hubby. Good taste! A little dense, don't know if that is normal or not, but still tastes good! I had two pieces. I made it in my bread maker, it has a GF setting. I used GF all purpose flour that already had Xanthum gum in it, so I just added up all the flours and put that many cups of my all purpose in. I also used cocont oil in place of the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shelle
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This gluten free recipe for white bread is simply delicious. This was the first "yeast" recipe for gluten free bread that I have made. Found it to be simple and straight forward. The only change was using brown rice flour since I had no white rice flour. I stronly suggest the use of a stand mixer with the bread blade since gluten free dough is much more sticky than traditional yeast bread doughs. The bread holds up very well for sandwiches and makes a wonderful toast for breakfast. I like very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this bread yesterday for a friend who is gluten intolerant. She loved it and said it tasted very good. I followed the recipe exactly using the white rice flour, I am going to try with brown rice flour per her request next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Just made this recipe only I used Flaxseed meal instead of Xanthan gum, and Tapioca flour instead of Sorghum flour. I was scared at how runny the dough seemed but remembered reading about gluten free dough looking like this. It turned out great! I am very impressed since this was my first attempt at making homemade gluten free bread. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've been gluten free for close to two years now. I've always bought Udi's bread, which is ok, but not anything really great. I then bought bread that was $8 a loaf. It felt wet and it was just gross. So this was my first attempt ever making Gluten Free bread because I've been trying to get a feel for baking again. Well, I can tell you this recipe is worth a shot. Most people who have celiac are allergic to soy and diary, so this was nice because I didn't have to try and sub anything. I made this bread and I only added baking powder, 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp. My daughter and I (GF) thought this was great and so good. It doesn't look like normal bread dough, it has a very wet look. Don't mess with it. I'll never buy bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
We went gluten free a week ago (due to Celiac disease). We have eaten better and had more delicious food than we have ever had (so far all from Allrecipes.com). I have already made this bread 3 times. It is AWESOME! I have found it works better using my 9 cup food processor than a mixer. Also, warming the oven (100 degrees and then shutting the oven off) and leaving the bread in the oven for an hour makes it rise much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I couldn't believe it but this bread really is great no matter how you slice it. I've made numbers of recipes over the years and haven't found one like this. I've made three loaves of this recipe so far and each has been delicious. The first attempt was by the book, so-to-speak, except I use fresh yeast (between 18-20 grams) because dry yeast is not available to me and white rice flour. Second attempt I subbed half white half brown rice for the rice flour but maintained the other types of flours/starches and topped with buckwheat, brown rice and millet flakes. Third attempt (the one in my picture) 1/2 white and 1/2 brown as well as tapioca for corn starch and guar gum (equivalent doses) for the xanthan (ran out of a few things). In the second and third attempt I used 2 TBSP of low fat powdered milk and it has a fluffier texture to it and tossed some sesame seeds on top. Will continue to use this third recipe. Also, I never used an electric mixer. All done by hand, much easier I think. For those who weigh: 181 grams rice flour (my brown and white rice flours weigh about the same)+70 grams sorghum+75grams potato starch+63 grams tapioca. The conversions on this site seem to go by volume not weight. Definitely a keeper for basic bread recipe. Toasted, sandwiches or just plain, simply a winner! Thanks to Christy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was wonderful! We have only been GF for 3 weeks, but REALLY missed bread the most. We found it a little salty, but our taste buds have not really adjusted to more healthy, lower suger options yet. Next loaf, I am going to cut the salt to 1/2 tsp, and add 1 more Tbsp of sugar to the dry ingredients. (not the yeast water) for maybe a little sweeter taste. I got lucky and found this recipe after only two other disastrous ones that went to the 4 doggies. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was a hit for the whole family, especially my newly gluten free 6 year old son. He lives for a PB&J, and I really thought I was going to be forced to pay $5 a loaf for the bread mix in the GF section. I made it into into a mini loaf pan, that makes 8 little loaves (like muffins). I can cut each lengthwise into four slices, and he takes 2 little PB&J sandwiches to school now. It cost me about $2.25 to make the 8 tiny loaves, which is pretty close to what I paid before for WW sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This bread is the best I've found. I cut it into slices as soon as cool. I wrap a few together in plastic wrap and put each bundle together in gallon ziplock bag. These all go in freezer. The best toast!!! Ive made grilled cheese, french toast, and sandwiches and its great. Here i thought I had to give up bread!!! : ) i use a gluten free baking flour instead of all the ones stated. Much more easy. Just 3 cups of gluten free baking flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brook Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States