Wonderful Gluten Free White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this bread yesterday for a friend who is gluten intolerant. She loved it and said it tasted very good. I followed the recipe exactly using the white rice flour, I am going to try with brown rice flour per her request next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Made this for my gluten intolerant Hubby. Good taste! A little dense, don't know if that is normal or not, but still tastes good! I had two pieces. I made it in my bread maker, it has a GF setting. I used GF all purpose flour that already had Xanthum gum in it, so I just added up all the flours and put that many cups of my all purpose in. I also used cocont oil in place of the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shelle
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This gluten free recipe for white bread is simply delicious. This was the first "yeast" recipe for gluten free bread that I have made. Found it to be simple and straight forward. The only change was using brown rice flour since I had no white rice flour. I stronly suggest the use of a stand mixer with the bread blade since gluten free dough is much more sticky than traditional yeast bread doughs. The bread holds up very well for sandwiches and makes a wonderful toast for breakfast. I like very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've been gluten free for close to two years now. I've always bought Udi's bread, which is ok, but not anything really great. I then bought bread that was $8 a loaf. It felt wet and it was just gross. So this was my first attempt ever making Gluten Free bread because I've been trying to get a feel for baking again. Well, I can tell you this recipe is worth a shot. Most people who have celiac are allergic to soy and diary, so this was nice because I didn't have to try and sub anything. I made this bread and I only added baking powder, 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp. My daughter and I (GF) thought this was great and so good. It doesn't look like normal bread dough, it has a very wet look. Don't mess with it. I'll never buy bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Searched for gluten free bread recipe and this is a keeper! Very quick and easy to make. Like the taste. Makes good sandwich bread and is also good toasted. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was a hit for the whole family, especially my newly gluten free 6 year old son. He lives for a PB&J, and I really thought I was going to be forced to pay $5 a loaf for the bread mix in the GF section. I made it into into a mini loaf pan, that makes 8 little loaves (like muffins). I can cut each lengthwise into four slices, and he takes 2 little PB&J sandwiches to school now. It cost me about $2.25 to make the 8 tiny loaves, which is pretty close to what I paid before for WW sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie O
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I made this bread several days ago and WOW! As much as I LOVE to bake, I've never ventured into baking with yeast (probably because I don't ever remember my mother making anything with it), it made me nervous so for years I had used a bread machine. The bread machine was given away 2yrs ago when I down-sized and moved to a place with nil-to-none counter space. Several months ago I went wheat-free and one of the things I missed a lot was bread (It just wasn't worth $5+ to buy a loaf). I came across this recipe about a month ago and it sounded pretty simple so I saved it and vowed to try it after the holidays. I'm thrilled that I did!! It is so easy to make. It slices well, toasts well, and freezes well! I sliced the whole loaf the day after I made it and but it in a freezer bag and stuck it in the freezer. I was afraid it would mold faster than I/we would eat it; my teens aren't as madly in love with it as me but are thankful to have the option of bread again. It freezes well, I just take it out by the slice and either toast it or just let it sit for about 10min to thaw. The consistency is different than regular bread because the gluten isn't there but it IS good! I made it exactly as written. It's a batter bread as opposed to a dough bread, which is what makes it soooo easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This bread recipe is great. I altered it a bit, as I had Brown Rice Flour and replaced the Sorghum Flour with Garbonzo Bean Flour. But overall, this recipe turned out fantastic. Going to make more today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Just made this recipe only I used Flaxseed meal instead of Xanthan gum, and Tapioca flour instead of Sorghum flour. I was scared at how runny the dough seemed but remembered reading about gluten free dough looking like this. It turned out great! I am very impressed since this was my first attempt at making homemade gluten free bread. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was wonderful! We have only been GF for 3 weeks, but REALLY missed bread the most. We found it a little salty, but our taste buds have not really adjusted to more healthy, lower suger options yet. Next loaf, I am going to cut the salt to 1/2 tsp, and add 1 more Tbsp of sugar to the dry ingredients. (not the yeast water) for maybe a little sweeter taste. I got lucky and found this recipe after only two other disastrous ones that went to the 4 doggies. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States