Wonderful Chicken Curry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was a good recipe. I couldn't follow the recipe exactly because I needed to use stuff that I had in my cupboards/fridge. So I did things a little differently, but that just proves it is a good base recipe and very adaptable. I also felt that there was too much mayo. Next time I would go with a 3/4 cup. I also chose to grate the onion and used only about 2.5 TBSP of grated onion. I also used cashews instead of pecans. Here are some substitutions that I made with stuff I had on hand. Replaced 1c grapes with 1c peeled, chopped apple. Replaced 3/4c chutney with some strawberry jam. Added a splash of lemon juice. Added a dash of paprika for color. It was yummy with butter lettuce on bakery rolls! I think it would be good in a wrap as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Have made this with both chicken and turkey and it is fantastic on croissant rolls. A great treat on those really hot days as it is quite refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Loved this! and so easy to make. I added fresh basil and toasted pecan pieces, and used Greek yougurt instead of sour cream. Great with spinach or lettuce in a pita; tastes very rich but really not too much fat! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Pretty good for chicken salad sandwiches. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
So good, i was trying to use up a LOT of cooked chicken and found this. I did not have chutney on hand, so used apricot jam mixed with worchestershire sauce and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Although, I've prepared a similar recipe for years, adding the chutney, onions and pecans this time was a delightful flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granny D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is really good and very quick! I have used a rotisserie chicken in place of cooking my own, as well as eliminating the chutney (because I didn't have it on hand) and it was still great! Toasted almonds can substitute for pecans too! Yummy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
It was just perfect for a hot day. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Ellsworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this - I make it all the time. It's delicious! You can easily swap up the add ins (different nuts, or fruit, etc). I like pecans and raisins, sometimes dried cranberries and walnuts - you can go wild, wild! Also have made it sans chutney when I was out and didn't feel like picking any up - I just upped the mayo a tad and once threw in a teaspoon of hot pepper jelly I had on hand. Not bad. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeadMansParty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Really liked this recipe! Only needed to add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mulliken, Michigan, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States