Wonderful Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Chocolatey amazingness. These are my go-to "time of the month brownies". They will be dry at 35-min, 25-minutes is PERFECT. The frosting is WELL WORTH the effort - it's what sets these brownies apart from all the other brownie recipes! Just FYI, 12oz = 1.5 cups. I serve mine with a scoop of vanilla ice cream... It is dessert perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Great recipe- I followed the recipe and did not make any changes. Everyone complains that they are too rich... I say they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookinggirl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Awesome recipe!!! It tastes bed in vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Loved these brownies! I have tried some other recipes but this one was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is the best dessert I have made on this site! so rich and creamy! I will be making this every time Chocolate chips and Whipping cream are in my house at the same time! (good with variations too: try with grated orange zest , or peppermint crushed in. or peanut butter layer! sinful!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The base is very dense due to so much chocolate, both melted and folded in. The frosting is almost a ganache, but the addition of butter makes the "ganache" too firm and crumbly in texture. I was expecting the frosting to be soft and creamy, but it become very stiff after chilling on the brownies, so that it lifted right off in a layer or chunks as I cut the pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My.husband.loved.these! He really liked the different texture of the frosting & brownie. I gave some of it away to my kids and they also loved it! I made them EXACTLY as the recipe stated and didn't change a thing. I had to freeze some, and it freezes well also. He said they are very rich, and could only eat a small piece. Thank you for a great recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I had Ghiradelli 60% bittersweet chips and semi-sweet Tollhouse chips on hand -- so for the batter, I did a 50-50 mix and then made the error of melting all 24 oz of the chips for the batter than just 1/2 melted and remaining 1/2 stirred in whole....sigh...but I carried on, followed the recipe minus whole eggs (I use EggBeaters) and reduced white sugar by 1/4 c. [I first tried reducing sugar by 1/2 c but batter was too bland]. I would say that the changes did not sacrifice the outcome one bit. The frosting -- sheer decadence. The brownies -- so chocolaty and rich. I would say this makes a brownie that is neither too fudgy nor too cakey -- but bang-on in texture and flavor and THE PERFECT BROWNIE recipe to have if you are going thru the trouble of making from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Diane
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is in response to braggingrannie.....there are 2 bags of chips for the brownies, and the 3rd bag is for the frosting, along with the cream and butter. Try these, you'll love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Wow, what a wonderful recipe! These are so rich that having one half the size of your average brownie feels like having three! I followed the recipe as stated. The frosting changes greatly in color when you whip it after it chills - Mine changed from very, very dark brown to pale brown. The only thing I didn't like about this recipe is that it didn't cut well - Some of the pieces were like eating brownie mush (but delicious mush, without a doubt). Perhaps they'll slice better when they're completely cooled, but I love a brownie that's a little warm. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States