Wonderful Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The base is very dense due to so much chocolate, both melted and folded in. The frosting is almost a ganache, but the addition of butter makes the "ganache" too firm and crumbly in texture. I was expecting the frosting to be soft and creamy, but it become very stiff after chilling on the brownies, so that it lifted right off in a layer or chunks as I cut the pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My.husband.loved.these! He really liked the different texture of the frosting & brownie. I gave some of it away to my kids and they also loved it! I made them EXACTLY as the recipe stated and didn't change a thing. I had to freeze some, and it freezes well also. He said they are very rich, and could only eat a small piece. Thank you for a great recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I had Ghiradelli 60% bittersweet chips and semi-sweet Tollhouse chips on hand -- so for the batter, I did a 50-50 mix and then made the error of melting all 24 oz of the chips for the batter than just 1/2 melted and remaining 1/2 stirred in whole....sigh...but I carried on, followed the recipe minus whole eggs (I use EggBeaters) and reduced white sugar by 1/4 c. [I first tried reducing sugar by 1/2 c but batter was too bland]. I would say that the changes did not sacrifice the outcome one bit. The frosting -- sheer decadence. The brownies -- so chocolaty and rich. I would say this makes a brownie that is neither too fudgy nor too cakey -- but bang-on in texture and flavor and THE PERFECT BROWNIE recipe to have if you are going thru the trouble of making from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Diane
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is in response to braggingrannie.....there are 2 bags of chips for the brownies, and the 3rd bag is for the frosting, along with the cream and butter. Try these, you'll love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Wow, what a wonderful recipe! These are so rich that having one half the size of your average brownie feels like having three! I followed the recipe as stated. The frosting changes greatly in color when you whip it after it chills - Mine changed from very, very dark brown to pale brown. The only thing I didn't like about this recipe is that it didn't cut well - Some of the pieces were like eating brownie mush (but delicious mush, without a doubt). Perhaps they'll slice better when they're completely cooled, but I love a brownie that's a little warm. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
omg the best brownie ever and love chocolate. I could just eat the frosting all by it's self. This is my all time fav brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
These brownies are to die for. Soooo good! And the frosting, its fantastic like a whipped ganache almost. The only thing I did differently was the cooking time. I reduced it to 20 minutes and they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
The frosting is amazing! ...and I don't typically like frosting haha. The brownies turned out with an almost pungent bitter-sweet taste though; next time I'll try milk chocolate chips in the mix. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Daddio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
OMG!!! The best brownies I have ever had. I agree that this recipe is a bit time consuming however, I also agree it is worth every single second of your time. The topping of whipped chocolate ganache frosting would be a great topping to "frost" any cake as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Anything BUT standard. Rich, delicious and decadent - just looking at them tells you so. I baked half a recipe in an 8x8 foil-lined pan, 23 minutes. No bakiing powder ensures these are NOT cakey. As for the frosting, it turns out exactly as the instructions say it will, right down to the stiff peaks. Fluffy and almost mousse-like. This is no run-of-the-mill brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Blonde Brownies I

This chewy "blondie" is still plenty chocolatey, thanks to the chips on top.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States