Wonderful Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is one of the best cakes ever!!! My family ate it in 2 days!! I will defantly make it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Made as cupcakes, tasted a lot like banana bread. Kids and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I rarely give reviews but I had to on this. I cannot believe how great it tasted from a mix & I've made several cakes from scratch & this one actually hada stronger banana flavor! Used Duncan Hines mix (used milk instead of water, 1/2C Oil & 3 eggs). Used 3 frozen thawed bananas mashed with 1 tsp cinnamon. I used the juice from the bananas as part of my water (milk). Baked in 9X13 pan for about 38 mins. Topped with a buttercream frosting from this site & used banana extract for a banana buttercream. So incredibly moist it is the best banana cake ever! Could eat without frosting actually. Try it, I couldn't believe it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I used white cake mix and made it according to the package directions after adding the banana/baking soda combo. Shared it at work and got tons of compliments on the flavor and moistness of this cake. Topped it with cream cheese frosting. I think it would have been great sprinkled with crushed walnuts as well, but didn't have any on hand. So easy, I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
just one determined woman who decided to use what i had on hand to bake a cake. i had the duncan hines yellow cake mix and the ripe bananas so I got busy making the cake according to instructions. Decided to get creative and added OJ for the liquid in recipe and apple sauce for the oil. Then sprinkled in some nutmeg and some lemon juice plus bananas. tasted batter and something was missing so I added a box of sugar free banana pudding and baked in tube pan. Left cool and iced with brown sugar drizzle. Got huge raves and it was lovely to look at and better to eat! Think outside the box...that is how great recipes are created. Thanks for sharing a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Very moist! My kids and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I was looking for a quick and easy banana bread recipe, so I followed what another reviewer did and baked in mini bread-loaf pans. It was pretty good, but most people were expecting bread because it looked like bread. I believe it would be much better as a cake with chocolate frosting, as pictured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Excellent cake! Gave 4 stars because of changes that were made. Added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1cp walnuts. One of my most requested cakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My family and I absolutely love this cake. It's so simple to make. I took other reviewers advice on the baking and turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Wonderful simple recipe! I substituted applesauce for the oil to make it healthier and used 3 bananas. Since my bananas weren't ripe, I put them in the oven cold and heated it up to 300 degrees until the bananas turned brown. The cake was wonderfully moist and enjoyed by all my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States