Wonderful Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Yes I just made it today and was very happy how it turned out. I used 1/2 cup cinnamon applesauce a dash of cinnamon and vanilla. I also used 3 medium sized bananas. I preheated oven to 350 and baked for 40 min. When it was done I let it cool and than mixed cool whip and some instant tapioca pudding together for the topping. It was so delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I really liked it. I used lemon cake mix instead of yellow, because that is what I had in the cupboard. This is an easy-to-fix, tasty dessert. It has the right amount of sweetness and so-o-o-o moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I followed the cooking directions on the cake mix box and it turned out delicious! For a topping I used a ready made cool whip cream cheese frosting and sprinkled some chopped walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Quick, easy, and delicious. I followed other reviewers advice and baked at 350 for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Baked it for 40 min and made a pudding/ whipped topping frosting. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Delicious! I used a Betty Crocker Butter Yellow cake mix (used butter instead of oil). I did add cinnamon as many of the other reviewers did. I made mine into cupcakes instead of a single cake and did preheat the oven and followed the baking directions on the box as others suggested. The cupcakes turned out light, fluffy, moist and delicious. Was planning on frosting them, but my kids (age 5 and 7) ate half of them before I even made the frosting. At that point, decided to save the calories that frosting would have added and we're just eating them like muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Good & fast recipe vs. from scratch. Family loved it. I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla (actually bourbon vanilla but regular will work fine too). I baked in a 10x10 cake pan so it was a little taller. Definitely need to watch the cooking time because it cooked faster (about 45 min). I made a nice buttercream frosting for it and put in refrigerator for at least one hour prior to serving. Will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This cake is awesome! I used this recipe as my base for a banana pudding poke cake (Yellow cake with a banana pudding layer (I used a Paula Deen recipe that has cream cheese and condensed milk in it) and then a whipped cream and sprinkled with crushed vanilla wafers. It was a little on the rich side, so next time I will cut back on the condensed milk, but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I took the suggestion of B_32 and made this with a butter pecan cake mix and lemme tell ya. It was fabulous! I took it to work and brought none of it home to my dear hubby. (and man,was he bummed!) I did two things slightly differently. I used 4 smashed bananas (because that's what I had on my kitchen counter) and I cut the amount of water just slightly. I also baked it for appx 35 mins as directed on the cake mix box, and watched it carefully for doneness. There's no way that I'd bake this cake for the amount of time that the recipe calls for. It would be overdone for sure. Frosted this with a simple cream cheese frosting and sprinkled it with toasted walnuts. New favorite go-to recipe for overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runzwitsizrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swisher, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This cake turned out great! My family enjoyed it too. I added three bananas, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, baked in a pre-heated oven at 350 and check it at 25 minutes. Frosted with a cream cheese pecan frosting as suggested in the reviews. Very yummy! Great way to use up very ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryKRichards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potosi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States