Won Ton Wrapper Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This is an elegant, easy appetizer. Some tips: DEFINITELY cook and crumble the sausage first. If you do that, you won't have to worry about making sure the sausage is cooked properly without burning the wontons. Also, leave out the olives and ranch dressing and add finely diced red pepper AND onion. I think the ranch dressing doesn't fit this recipe. You could also use an Italian 6-Blend cheese in place of the other cheeses. With all these changes, they will taste like mini sausage sandwiches, which everyone loves. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Received this recipe a few years ago from a friend and since then it's been a staple at parties. It's always a hit & everyone wants the recipe. I always keep them made up in my freezer. I mix up the filling & put that in a freezer bag (a lot of times I divide into small bags) & then bake up the shells & put those in another bag. Works great because then I can really pull out & make whatever I need!!! One thing I wanted to point out because I don't think the recipe makes it clear, you DO NOT pre-cook the sausage before you mix it into the rest of the ingredients. The sausage will bake fine once you put it into the shells and bake them. Also, much of the flavor of this recipe depends on the sausage you use so make sure you use one that has a good flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I put a glass over the wontons and trim the excess off so the wonton fills the minature muffin cup, without hanging out, and you don't have the corners burning before the cup is baked...definitely cook & crumble the sausage first. I've made these for years and everyone loves them....the wontons can be frozen in a zip lock bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This recipe was really disgusting. When I firt began the recipe, I thought the wonton cups were really cute and eye-catching. Then as I mixed the sausage mixture I was slightly repulsed by the Ranch additive, but I figured that it would all come together once cooked. I was wrong. It was way too sickenly ranchy creamy, and the sausage was rubbery. I brought this appetizer to a party, and thank goodness I brought the Brown Sugar Smokies (also on Allrecipes) because the dish remained virtually untouched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I thought this was excellent! First, you must brown the sausage, so it will be crumbly and you can blot all the excess fat off. I skipped the olives, but added some finely chopped red peppers when I sauteed my sausage. I prepared FRESH ranch dressing, using the Hidden Valley packet, and prepared it with 2/3 cup light mayo and about 1/2 cup of milk. I wound up using about half of this mixture in the sausage and cheese mix. The wontons turned out to be a lot easier than I thought and I found out through experimenting that you DO NOT have to brush them with oil, or oil the pan. I would recommend that you only lightly prebake the shells, because they will become quite brown when cooking with the filling in them. I took this to a girls night and they were all polished off and everyone wanted the recipe. A big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
These are fantastic-- when making the wonton cups- be gentle because they can tear. I added a few strips of shredded cheese on the top of the stuffed wonton cup to make it a little cheesier. Also I cooked the sausage first (without the casing) in a frying pan, then I chopped it with one of those hand choppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Perucki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
This recipe is one of my family favorites. Everyone loves these and they disappear quickly. I add 1\2 cup chopped red pepper for some nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
These had to compete with a lot of other appetizers at the New Year's Eve party and they did quite well! Our group of twelve managed to finish all four dozen, so I think it's safe to say they were a hit. They're a lot faster and easier to make than the homemade potstickers I usually do. They're better warm, so make sure you have a microwave handy if they're going to be sitting out very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
The most fabulous mouthwatering appetizer ever!! I am "famous" in my circle of friends and family for this recipe. I have made this recipe for about 5 years and people still request at parties or functions I attend. It is a fairly time consuming recipe but worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
loved the spiciness and it was easy and easy to make ahead. My husband went crazy over them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Easy Appetizers

Lots of little bites add up to big fun and a stress-free party.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States