Won Ton Snacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I loved this recipe and so did all of my guests at my annual Christmas Party for "girls only" (ages 12-95) in my family. I wanted to keep the menu light because of all of the goodies around this time of year. We had an oriental chicken salad and I wanted an appetizer that wasnt fried, and these were perfect, I did not add the peanut sauce, I only added soy sauce for flavor and they turned out great, I did add about 2 cups of packaged coleslaw mix and next time will add more veggies and less meat. I served them with the Oriental Dipping Sauce and sweet & sour sauce recipes I found on this site. They were a huge hit, I will be using this recipe again and look forward to experimenting with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
These were pretty easy to make (though we did add prep time in using a round biscuit cutter to cut all of the wontons into circles to make the snacks look nicer). After we put them together, I put a damp towel over the top then wrapped in a big plastic bag to keep the won ton shells moist until baked. Great flavor and presentation - not a typical appetizer - but just as easy really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I made these for New Year's Eve and everyone loved them. They are very easy to prepare and are an attractive appetizer to serve at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I've made these twice now and they were a huge hit each time. I left out the water chestnuts (simply because I don't care for them) and nobody seemed to miss them. The assembly is actually pretty fun, thus the high "kid friendly" rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I made these for a party and added 2 cups coleslaw mix to ingredients. They were a big hit and I was asked to hand out the recipe. Good job Denise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Friends are always requesting this tasty treat. Must have appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
YUM! I added a little fresh cilantro and some cole slaw to the mix. Saved some of the peanut sauce and thinned it out for dipping. Also used the recipes on allrecipes for sweet and sour sauce and oriental dipping sauce. Used the leftover cole slaw mix and made a Chinese cole slaw. They were a big hit! I made another batch later in the week because people ate them so fast I only got to try one! Make extras and save them for yourself because there won't be leftovers ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Wow! Everybody loved these. Tasted like a won ton in a Chinese restaurant that we can never get enough of. Served with the oriental dipping sauce, they were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
The best! Everyone I've ever made this for raves. I don't add water chestnuts or Thai peanut sauce. Instead I add fresh ginger, finely minced, along with finely chopped green cabbage. Add Thai sweet dipping sauce and hoisin to the mix once all the liquid is evaporated. Serve with Oriental Dipping Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
My daughter Ashley LOVES these. I added more seasonings and folded them in half and deep fried in my fry daddy for our party yesterday. A great appetizer that everyone went nuts over! Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States