Witches' Brew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this punch at our halloween party and it turned out great. The stars are mainly for the hand, because the hand turned out fantastic! In lieu of ginger ale, i used green stawberry & kiwi flavored punch so there was a color contrast, plus my kids aren't crazy about ginger ale. As the fingers started to melt, the hand looked more like a heart and the melted fingers looked like blood. The other change I made was using a package of black cherry gelatin in lieu of unflavored. It really made the punch taste great and gave the hand the deep red color! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I added sugar to my hand since the recipe doesn't specify sweetend rasberries or unsweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRASHER

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicki G
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
So fun! I should have made 2 of them, or even 3, but I wasn't expecting the hand to melt so fast. The punch itself tasted like plain apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Added lichees with grapes in them to add floating eyeballs to the punch (slightly different recipe) to make an even spookier drink!! The eyeballs could also go in the glasses, decorating more than just the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I can only review the hand portion since I didn't use the punch recipe. The hand came out great though. Used the recipie as written. It froze fine, I sliced the glove up the side and then each finger as it was coming off. We served it in a red wine sangria, very spooky! Even as it started to thaw the gelatin kept the hand together, and actually made it kind of move funky when people dipped in for more punch. It was a huge hit at the Halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
this is cool to i know my nephew would go nutsover the cake all day long if i should him that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
this is such a cool idea i am a teen and my friends and i are planning a halloween party this is like one of the last touches its an amazing idea!!!!:)i love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I used this recipe at family gathering. I didn't freeze hand long enough fingers broke off.Better luck next time. Overall the punch was GREAAT! My family request that i make that punch again. Thanks for your idea recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' for 5
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I used this recipe just for the hand. It was rather messy and filled 2 hands; and took more than a couple days to freeze solid enought to remove the glove. I wasn't able to get it to stick out of the punch without weighing it down so I just let it float. It still turned out impressively for my daughter's party. Next time I think I'll just freeze red jello or juice, it'll be cheaper and I think it will give the same effect. Thanks for the great idea anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' for 5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I did use a differant punch but I used the hand and let it float around in the punch. It was very cool and everyone loved it. when I cut the glove off almost all of the fingers broke off. That could have been because it was only in my freezer for 3 or 4 days before the party and it said to give it a week. next time I will try it that way. by the end of the night the hand was falling apart but since it is made with the gelitine it doesnt really melt and with the rassberry seeds it kind of made it look like muscle fallin off of a bone. very gross but VERY cool looking at the same time everyone thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States