Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My husband and I are HUGE fans of the beer cheese soup you can get at Curly's Pub at Lambeau Field in Green Bay. He is always asking me to make it at home but I can never get the right result, until now. This soup is amazing. Our only issue with it is we are used to our beer cheese soup being much thicker than this soup was. Next time I make it I will try using less chicken broth, which should help the problem. Otherwise, I did not have the issues with the milk or cheese curdling when I added them to the pot. This was actually really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Due to reviews, I made changes. I increased the flour and butter to 1/2 cup each, used 3 cups half and half, 1 cup heavy cream, and also added 2 tablespoons parmesan cheese and 3 teaspoons chopped pimentos. I also only used a 12oz bottle of Smithwick's beer. I melted the butter in a Dutch oven on medium heat, added the veggies, salt, pepper and pimentos, turned the heat down to low and put the top on. They gently cooked for 10-12 minutes until soft. Then I increased the temp to medium and added the flour and dry mustard and stirred for about 1 minute. Then slowly I added the broth while whisking until bubbly and thick next I added the half and half, heavy cream and last the beer. I brought it to a boil and stirred in all the rest of the ingredients except cheeses. Next I completely removed the pot from the heat and add the parmesan cheese. I then used my immersion blender to cream the soup. Still off heat, by handfuls I very slowly added 3 cups sharp and 3 cups extra sharp cheddar cheese , whisking the entire time. It turned out thick and creamy with a hint of rich beer. We served it the next day in a crock pot for our Christmas party and it was a HUGE success. I put out croutons and bacon bits to sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I found myself wanting broccoli. I ate several servings but the kids passed on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This soup is super good! We don't add the popcorn though. Definitely a keeper as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This turned out amazing! I followed the directions exactly and wouldn't change a thing (though I think crumbled bacon couldn't hurt). I used a mix of sharp cheddar and sharp white cheddar and the consistency was smooth and creamy. We had ham sandwiches on the side with jalapeno foccacia bread which was great dipped into the soup. Others have mentioned that using two pots is unneccesary, but I wonder if getting the cheese and milk mixture together first helps keep it from getting gritty? Either way, outstanding flavor and a great fall comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
LOVED IT! we needed to chop our veggies finer and cook them to a softer texture, but over all we liked the flavors. we used a stein loggers as the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was my first attempt at Beer Cheese Soup and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. This soup is SO good! I followed the directions exactly except for the beer - I wasn't paying attention and I added two full bottles of AmberBock instead of the recommended 16 oz. That made the soup a little runny, but was easily remedied by making an additional rue and adding it to the soup along with a little more cheddar. I would not recommend using Velveta to thicken this soup as other reviewers have suggested because I think it would completely change the flavor (which was phenomenal).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
The cheese remained chunky, I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Couple more details: I used 2 C skim and 2 C cream. Sifted about 1/4 C flour at end to thicken. Cheese was grated ( thank you, Cuisinart). Texture held and color was perfect. People liked the heat, so don't skimp on pepper. No popcorn, but like idea of brats chopped into soup. Too many vegetarians at my party for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I lost my original recipe for this soup when I stumbled on this one. It's a good recipe, but I made it tonight and it turned out gritty. I think my cheese curled on me. I never used two pots with my previous recipe. I will cook my veggies in butter next time and do it all in the same pot. I have always used New Castle beer. It's my favorite, but I like the Smithwicks idea too. I will cook my veggies longer next time. Not sure how to keep the cheese from curdling. Never had that problem before. Google here I come. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States