Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
The cheese doesn't melt in very well and it has kind of a weird aftertaste. It just doesn't taste like the beer-cheese soup I remember as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I thought that this recipe was great, my SO on the other hand gave it a 3 so we'll average it to a 4. The beer flavor really does come through. I agree with those who said don't add the popcorn until the last second because it melts right in to the soup (but does give it a nice crunch). I also cooked everything in one pan softening the veggies first as suggested by others. Very good. I'm freezing half of this, so we'll see how it reheats. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Delicious recipe, but the cooking method as described needs work. There's no reason this soup should require two pots to fix. That's just more mess and extra work for such a simple soup. Rather than following the cooking instructions, I did something similar to other reviewers in that I sauteed the veggies in butter and salt first for about 5 minutes, added the flour and dry seasonings next and cooked the dry mixture for a few minutes before gradually adding the liquid ingredients (plus the pepper and worcestershire sauces) and letting everything simmer for 20 minutes or so before adding the cheese at the very end. I prefer a smoother texture for my soups, so I took an immersion blender to the pot right before I added in the cheese. Apart from that though, this is a terrific recipe. My family raved about the flavor and the leftovers are delicious too. The key to getting great results for this soup is to use good cheese. Don't be lazy and use preshredded cheddar, as the flavor profile and the texture won't be as good than if you had picked up a block of decent cheddar (I used Tillamook, but a good Wisconsin cheese would be fitting!) and grated it yourself. The result will be so much creamier and the taste so much richer that you won't regret the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Paired a nutty brown winter beer with sharp cheddar, and a squeeze of spicy brown mustard since I had no mustard powder. My family loved it. It is a little thin, but very rich, and yes, it does seem like you could more easily add the flour to sautéed veggies and only use one pot as others noted, but I appreciate someone taking the time to share a good recipe so I try to honor the original cook the first time I try a new recipe. Really easy to make, very filling. Slayed my family. My teen actually got all cozy after eating a big bowl and went horizontal right at the table, laid down across two dining chairs. My wife simply kinda went diagonal, resting on one elbow. I just drank the rest of the beer. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy Rhon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Best beer cheese soup I've made to date
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My husband and I are HUGE fans of the beer cheese soup you can get at Curly's Pub at Lambeau Field in Green Bay. He is always asking me to make it at home but I can never get the right result, until now. This soup is amazing. Our only issue with it is we are used to our beer cheese soup being much thicker than this soup was. Next time I make it I will try using less chicken broth, which should help the problem. Otherwise, I did not have the issues with the milk or cheese curdling when I added them to the pot. This was actually really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Due to reviews, I made changes. I increased the flour and butter to 1/2 cup each, used 3 cups half and half, 1 cup heavy cream, and also added 2 tablespoons parmesan cheese and 3 teaspoons chopped pimentos. I also only used a 12oz bottle of Smithwick's beer. I melted the butter in a Dutch oven on medium heat, added the veggies, salt, pepper and pimentos, turned the heat down to low and put the top on. They gently cooked for 10-12 minutes until soft. Then I increased the temp to medium and added the flour and dry mustard and stirred for about 1 minute. Then slowly I added the broth while whisking until bubbly and thick next I added the half and half, heavy cream and last the beer. I brought it to a boil and stirred in all the rest of the ingredients except cheeses. Next I completely removed the pot from the heat and add the parmesan cheese. I then used my immersion blender to cream the soup. Still off heat, by handfuls I very slowly added 3 cups sharp and 3 cups extra sharp cheddar cheese , whisking the entire time. It turned out thick and creamy with a hint of rich beer. We served it the next day in a crock pot for our Christmas party and it was a HUGE success. I put out croutons and bacon bits to sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I found myself wanting broccoli. I ate several servings but the kids passed on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This soup is super good! We don't add the popcorn though. Definitely a keeper as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This turned out amazing! I followed the directions exactly and wouldn't change a thing (though I think crumbled bacon couldn't hurt). I used a mix of sharp cheddar and sharp white cheddar and the consistency was smooth and creamy. We had ham sandwiches on the side with jalapeno foccacia bread which was great dipped into the soup. Others have mentioned that using two pots is unneccesary, but I wonder if getting the cheese and milk mixture together first helps keep it from getting gritty? Either way, outstanding flavor and a great fall comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States