Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was my first attempt at Beer Cheese Soup and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. This soup is SO good! I followed the directions exactly except for the beer - I wasn't paying attention and I added two full bottles of AmberBock instead of the recommended 16 oz. That made the soup a little runny, but was easily remedied by making an additional rue and adding it to the soup along with a little more cheddar. I would not recommend using Velveta to thicken this soup as other reviewers have suggested because I think it would completely change the flavor (which was phenomenal).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
The cheese remained chunky, I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Couple more details: I used 2 C skim and 2 C cream. Sifted about 1/4 C flour at end to thicken. Cheese was grated ( thank you, Cuisinart). Texture held and color was perfect. People liked the heat, so don't skimp on pepper. No popcorn, but like idea of brats chopped into soup. Too many vegetarians at my party for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I lost my original recipe for this soup when I stumbled on this one. It's a good recipe, but I made it tonight and it turned out gritty. I think my cheese curled on me. I never used two pots with my previous recipe. I will cook my veggies in butter next time and do it all in the same pot. I have always used New Castle beer. It's my favorite, but I like the Smithwicks idea too. I will cook my veggies longer next time. Not sure how to keep the cheese from curdling. Never had that problem before. Google here I come. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I found this exact recipe in a local grocer's magazine. My problem: I had never made a cream/cheese based soup before....I added the cheese way too fast and in too hot of a pot, and turned my soup very very gritty. Note: after the roux is made (flour and butter mixture), remove from heat and allow the pot to cool for awhile, then add the cheese just a little at a time and stir. I made mine with Grain Belt Nordeast (the best beer out there in my opinion) and it was delicious....despite the gritty texture...this is a GREAT recipe and I will definetely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnie
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Perfect. . .even better than the old recipe I used to have that the family loved. Definitely serve it with lots of popcorn. . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I loved this soup. Yummy leftovers for a week!! Unfortunately, my family doesn't love cheese soup. WHATEVER - they are wrong. This soup rocks (if you like cheese soup, and I sure do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Vegetables undercooked, not creamy at all - bad texture. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
The flavor here was on the money. I used Sierra Nevada porter for the beer, as I was seeking a strong beer flavor. I skipped the hot sauce, but used a little extra cayenne. TOTALLY recommend using an immersion blender to get a smooth consistency. I sauteed the trinity (and a bay leaf) in the butter, then added the flour and dry mustard, THEN added the beer and broth. Just seemed easier that way. Regardless how you make it, the flavors here are great. Highly recommend. Can't wait to show it off at work on Monday! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Soooo Goooood. Had this soup left over like three days in a row because it was so dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Hagerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States