Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This soup is super good! We don't add the popcorn though. Definitely a keeper as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This turned out amazing! I followed the directions exactly and wouldn't change a thing (though I think crumbled bacon couldn't hurt). I used a mix of sharp cheddar and sharp white cheddar and the consistency was smooth and creamy. We had ham sandwiches on the side with jalapeno foccacia bread which was great dipped into the soup. Others have mentioned that using two pots is unneccesary, but I wonder if getting the cheese and milk mixture together first helps keep it from getting gritty? Either way, outstanding flavor and a great fall comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
LOVED IT! we needed to chop our veggies finer and cook them to a softer texture, but over all we liked the flavors. we used a stein loggers as the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was my first attempt at Beer Cheese Soup and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. This soup is SO good! I followed the directions exactly except for the beer - I wasn't paying attention and I added two full bottles of AmberBock instead of the recommended 16 oz. That made the soup a little runny, but was easily remedied by making an additional rue and adding it to the soup along with a little more cheddar. I would not recommend using Velveta to thicken this soup as other reviewers have suggested because I think it would completely change the flavor (which was phenomenal).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
The cheese remained chunky, I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Couple more details: I used 2 C skim and 2 C cream. Sifted about 1/4 C flour at end to thicken. Cheese was grated ( thank you, Cuisinart). Texture held and color was perfect. People liked the heat, so don't skimp on pepper. No popcorn, but like idea of brats chopped into soup. Too many vegetarians at my party for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I lost my original recipe for this soup when I stumbled on this one. It's a good recipe, but I made it tonight and it turned out gritty. I think my cheese curled on me. I never used two pots with my previous recipe. I will cook my veggies in butter next time and do it all in the same pot. I have always used New Castle beer. It's my favorite, but I like the Smithwicks idea too. I will cook my veggies longer next time. Not sure how to keep the cheese from curdling. Never had that problem before. Google here I come. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I found this exact recipe in a local grocer's magazine. My problem: I had never made a cream/cheese based soup before....I added the cheese way too fast and in too hot of a pot, and turned my soup very very gritty. Note: after the roux is made (flour and butter mixture), remove from heat and allow the pot to cool for awhile, then add the cheese just a little at a time and stir. I made mine with Grain Belt Nordeast (the best beer out there in my opinion) and it was delicious....despite the gritty texture...this is a GREAT recipe and I will definetely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnie
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Perfect. . .even better than the old recipe I used to have that the family loved. Definitely serve it with lots of popcorn. . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I loved this soup. Yummy leftovers for a week!! Unfortunately, my family doesn't love cheese soup. WHATEVER - they are wrong. This soup rocks (if you like cheese soup, and I sure do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle

Displaying results 61-70 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States