Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by hotpeppasauce
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe with quite a few adjustments (cuz thats just what i do ) I added steak, potatoes and mushrooms and made it more like a stew. I also changed the method of cooking. First I browned the meat with the onions and garlic, then I added the flour, beers and broth then the veggies and seasonings and let simmer until meat was tender. I then added the cheese directly to the soup and finally the 1/2 and 1/2. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I followed another reviewers instructions and sweated the vegies in the butter, added in the flour to make the roux. Added in the seasonings and liquids. Bring to a boil, lower temp and let cool down. Take off heat and slowly add in cheese. I use the pre-packaged shredded fine stuff and it works just fine if it's cooled down some and you add it in slowly. Being a life-long Wisconsinite, I also added in some beer brats that I cooked and diced and of course served with beer bread. Declared Best Superbowl feast ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I have had beer cheese soup at The Flying Saucer in Nashville, TN. Needless to say, it was okay. I could tell it was missing something! I decided to give it another try when I was preparing a 'man' themed dinner for my husband. I cooked this without the carrots and celery. Also, I substituted the dry mustard with table mustard (because I didn't have a mustard spice etc.). My husband KEEPS requesting me to make this again!!! It was the BEST CHEESE SOUP EVER. Perfectly spiced and amazing. I am going to make home-made pretzels the next time I make this delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbly.foodista

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The beer flavor was too strong for me and didn't seem to belong. I enjoy beer and used a relatively mild-tasting Miller Lite for this recipe. Sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I agree with the other reviews; the vegetables need to be sweated until they are tender. I used a sieve to get rid of all the uncooked vegetables. I thought the flavor of the soup was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Anne Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Great soup, but the dijon mustard was a bit overpowering. Next time I make this, I'll leave it out altogether as it really competes with the other flavors. I knew that I wanted this soup to be creamy and completely smooth, so I sauteed the veggies in butter until they softened, added the chicken broth and simmered until they were very soft. At that point, I used my stick blender and pureed the soup in the pot until very smooth. Then I proceeded with the recipe as directed, using half&half, and being very careful to keep it at a low simmer. I put out crumbled bacon and green onions to top with. This soup was a big hit at a party but had I known how much better this soup is on the second day...I would have made it ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made it the day before Christmas and served it on Christmas day for the soup course of our dinner. As others noted, it reheated beautifully. My notes: I shred my veggies in a food processor to make them smaller and to speed up the prep process. I also used an immersion blender to make the veggies even more fine for serving. There was lots of texture, but no big lumps of veggie. I thickened the soup the next day with more roux and added more salt, pepper, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce to enhance the flavor to my palate. EVERYONE RAVED!! Best cheese soup I've made. I will keep this recipe in my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Yum! This soup turned out thick & flavorful for me. I took everyone else's advice & sauteed the veggies in the butter first thing. I then added the flour & made a nice roux. I gradually added the broth, beer & other ingredients (except the dairy). I simmered it all for about 20 min, then added the milk & cheese, stirring constantly at med heat. It thickened up nicely & was fantastic w/nice fresh rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Adjusted the recipe for 20 servings. Didn't deviate from the instructions, and found it to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great flavor- I followed the recipe and advice of others- made sure the vegetables were soft- pureed them, used good block cheese- cooked cheese at low temp- still a bit of a texture issue but not enough to hinder me from making it again. Served it with Chef John's San Francisco bagles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States