Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wow. This is soooo good. This is the 1st Beer Cheese soup I've ever tried. Stumbled across this recipe and it just sounded good. I took off 1 star only because I didn't follow the recipe exactly as written, but used all the ingredients as listed but followed naples34102's cooking method- did it all in 1 pot and sweating the vegetables in the butter, instead of boiling them. The extra steps seemed to just over complicate things and result in more pots and pans to wash. I also topped it with bacon instead of the popcorn. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We really loved this soup, yummy! It was a bit watery, not sure how to make it creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beaker88
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! Much better if you shred the carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great recipe and super easy to make! Serves up great with a pretzel bread. I didn't have any mustard powder, so I omitted that... did not seem to matter because it was still awesome! The soup base smells a lot of beer, but don't be scared, because it comes together beautifully! I've used different beers every time I've made it, depending on what I have at home, and it's always turned out great. I did fry a couple strips of bacon in the pan and used the drippings to fry the veggies... of course everything is better with bacon! I added the crumbles to the top of the soup before serving. I have made this a couple of times, and it is a great platform to adjust to your liking... Thanks so much Savvyhostess for a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
The veggies didn't soften and the flavor wasn't that great. I even used Spotted Cow. We have a local restaurant in town that has the best cheese soup, and it looks like we'll be going there to render our craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Born and raised in WI and I have had many different types of beer cheese soup- all being delish! I followed the recipe to a "T" and Im not really digging it. Its not thick enough and the veggies never got soft (And I simmered them for 10 min longer than the recipe said to.) I wouldn't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this recipe with technique changes as suggested by another reviewer. I kept the ingredients the same but sweated the veggies about 10 minutes, then added the flour and browned, then added liquids and remainder of the ingredients except the cheese. I simmered the soup about ten minutes stirring frequently. I then removed from the heat and stirred in the cheese a little at a time. It turned out so smooth and delicious. I definitely recommend this recipe to anyone in the mood for a great cheese soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjc123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My wife loved the soup I made tonight. The Beer was Sam Adam's Hazel Brown, what a great pairing with Sharp Cheddar and a small block of Velveeta. Did use the blender to puree veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Perfect on a cold night. Kids and husband all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States