Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I've been a Wisconsinite most of my life (am originally from Minnesota) and while I don't proclaim to be a Beer Cheese Soup expert I do know what I like and I do know what tastes good. And this is some good soup! Given some of the reviews I had extra flour on hand in case it was too thin, and Velveeta in case it wasn't creamy enough. This needed neither. I wasn't crazy about the cooking method which I believe wasn't as good as it could have been. I didn't like the idea of boiling the vegetables rather than sweating them, and two different mixtures, a "beer mixture" and a "cheese mixture" was totally unnecessary. I sweated the vegetables in the butter for about 10 minutes, added the flour, then cooked that another couple of minutes. Stirred the half and half in gradually, added the beer, chicken broth, mustards and Worcestershire sauce, brought it to a boil and simmered for about 10 minutes, stirring fairly constantly, until creamy and thickened. I removed it from the heat, then stirred in the cheese a little at a time until combined. I garnished each serving with crisp, crumbled bacon which only gave it an extra flavor punch (I swear bacon makes EVERYTHING taste better!). This is creamy, silky smooth, not too cheesy but cheesy enough, and very pleasantly flavored. Sometimes cheese soups (especially in restaurants) can be gloppy and pasty but this was refreshingly light by comparison. So while the cooking method needed work this still is a solid four star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
447 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Against my better judgment, I followed the instructions exactly. The finely chopped vegetables never got very soft and I cooked them for about 30 minutes. It smelled great, but the texture was disappointing. We ended up straining out the vegetables. I used a bottle of Sam Adams Boston Ale, but it was a little bitter. I will make this again, but with the following 2 changes. I will saute the vegetables in butter until they are extremely soft, then I will simmer in the broth and a pale ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
The flavor is excellent, but you will have definite texture issues if you follow the instructions as written. Cheese and cream curdle very easily! To prevent the gritty texture many complain about here (and cut down on wasted extra pot to clean), I suggest making the following changes: 1st saute the vegetables in butter until they are tender. Then add the flour and dry mustard, stirring constantly until well mixed. Then add broth, beer, hot sauce, and spices. Cook for about 10 minutes or until warm, and then REDUCE the temperature to medium low. This will prevent curdling when you add your dairy next. Gradually add half and half and simmer for 10-15 minutes to thicken, stirring periodically. DO NOT ALLOW TO BOIL as this causes curdling. )Watch carefully, as this can happen quickly.) Then remove the pot from heat and gradually add cheese by small handfuls, stirring constantly. Stir in Dijon and Worcestershire, and put the pot back on to simmer on LOW for about 10 minutes. The key thing here is to keep the temperature low! Also, adding cheese at the end will prevent it from reacting with the beer, which can also cause it to curdle, especially if it is too hot or cold when added. By the way, this recipe is great the next day, too. Just remember to reheat it gently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
As is, this soup rates a 5. It's delicious, relatively simple, and includes my favorite veggies to have in creamy soup. I've made it a few times, just like the recipe and changed it once, adding diced red pepper, and cumin, along with half pepper jack, garnishing with tortilla strips, for a southwestern thing. Both versions are on semi-regular rotation now! Not only is this a great recipe, but it's a good jumping off point, too. Also, the flavor of the beer really shines through, and dark beers work better (not stouts, but a heavy lager is perfect!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Simple and delicious, earns bonus marks for freezing well. However, I don't recommend putting popcorn on the top - mine turned soggy within moments, so I scooped the pieces out and substituted for croutons instead. Otherwise, no problems! This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This Chicagoian knows that any cheesehead recipie is going to be good! It has the right blend of spices. I used a little different cheese...I used a 2 year aged Wisconsin white cheedar (to make it even more Wisconsin-like). My beer of choice was Blue Moon. This made for a very warm and fuzzy feeling! Served with a hot pretzel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This is the first beer cheese soup I have tried to make and it turned out great! I've had differant varieties of it at differant Super Bowl parties over the years and Have always enjoyed it. The only thing I did a little differant is I grilled some Brats untill well done and smokey then ground them up and put them in the soup. It was AWESOME! Go Seahawks!! Also used a little more cheese + one cup of shredded parmigon chese and a bout 2 bottles of henrys fall lager.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALMONSNAGGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I'm also a Wisconsin native, and have had my share of Beer Cheese Soup around this fair state. This one just didn't do it for me - mainly because it just wasn't rich and creamy. The rest of the family enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I mixed the flour in with the grated cheese before adding it, essentially coating the cheese bits, which allowed for easier blending/melting of the cheese and less need for added fat. Crumbled bacon or small pieces of cooked sausage are nice additions. Popcorn is a tasty topping, but I served it on the side, so one could add it while eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I make a lot of soups, but this one was the best yet! A wonderful blend of Wisconsin favorites. Didn't have dry mustard, so used the mustard you put on hotdogs and it turned out delicious. Husband raved and craved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoodcookr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States