Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was okay. Nothing spectacular on flavor. It got thicker as it kept in the fridge. I did use an immersion blender before serving so that no one could avoid the veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This soup was delicious! It was perfect for a cold and rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this soup a little haphazardly, as I didn't have all the ingredients. But, as has been stated, it's a phenomenal jumping off point to make variations on. \ I began by halving the recipe, as I'm just cooking for myself and a few close people. I added a few thinly sliced strips of bacon to the vegetables in the beginning. I also added potatoes and took out the celery (I hadn't any available). For the dijon mustard, I used a spicy jalapeno mustard instead. The beer I used was Montana Brewing Co's "Summer Honey Seasonal Ale". A fairly dark ale with a hint of sweetness, not bitter. I read about serving it with a soft pretzel and it's a phenomenal idea! Mind you, I'm not from Wisconsin (South Dakota), so I can't claim this to be a "real beer cheese soup", I can claim it to be a pretty delicious soup with some beer and cheese and bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Feege

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
The flavor is excellent, but you will have definite texture issues if you follow the instructions as written. Cheese and cream curdle very easily! To prevent the gritty texture many complain about here (and cut down on wasted extra pot to clean), I suggest making the following changes: 1st saute the vegetables in butter until they are tender. Then add the flour and dry mustard, stirring constantly until well mixed. Then add broth, beer, hot sauce, and spices. Cook for about 10 minutes or until warm, and then REDUCE the temperature to medium low. This will prevent curdling when you add your dairy next. Gradually add half and half and simmer for 10-15 minutes to thicken, stirring periodically. DO NOT ALLOW TO BOIL as this causes curdling. )Watch carefully, as this can happen quickly.) Then remove the pot from heat and gradually add cheese by small handfuls, stirring constantly. Stir in Dijon and Worcestershire, and put the pot back on to simmer on LOW for about 10 minutes. The key thing here is to keep the temperature low! Also, adding cheese at the end will prevent it from reacting with the beer, which can also cause it to curdle, especially if it is too hot or cold when added. By the way, this recipe is great the next day, too. Just remember to reheat it gently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Very rich and delicious. The only changes I made to this recipe was omit the dry mustard since I didn't have any on hand & to puree the veggies (since my family doesn't like diced or chunk veggies in their beer cheese soup). Served with popcorn for first serving and croutons on top for second serving. The popcorn won out! :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is a great recipe, but I would make some changes next time... I did add fresh sliced mushrooms for the last 10 min simmer, which was a great addition. Next time I will cut the broth to 2 cups, cut the half and half to 3 cups & up the flour to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Yummy. My friend and I made this together on St. Patrick's day with Irish Soda Bread from this site. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
was really good, creamy and full of flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I've heard my Wisconsin-born fiancée rave over beer cheese soup made by a friend, and I was very much looking forward to trying this recipe when I found it. Even though I added 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper instead of following the directions, it still seemed extremely bland to me considering how much liquid there is. I was very disappointed with this recipe. It needed to be much thicker and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ball, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States