Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Vegetables undercooked, not creamy at all - bad texture. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
The flavor here was on the money. I used Sierra Nevada porter for the beer, as I was seeking a strong beer flavor. I skipped the hot sauce, but used a little extra cayenne. TOTALLY recommend using an immersion blender to get a smooth consistency. I sauteed the trinity (and a bay leaf) in the butter, then added the flour and dry mustard, THEN added the beer and broth. Just seemed easier that way. Regardless how you make it, the flavors here are great. Highly recommend. Can't wait to show it off at work on Monday! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Soooo Goooood. Had this soup left over like three days in a row because it was so dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Hagerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My first time to make a beer cheese soup and this recipe was a winner! Popcorn was tasty on top even though I didn't think it would be. My book club really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I thought it was pretty good. The bf said it was "ok".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Excellent soup! Allow some time to simmer this soup and really thicken it up. I puree the veggies to get a smooth texture. Use a really good, super sharp chedder for the best result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was okay. Nothing spectacular on flavor. It got thicker as it kept in the fridge. I did use an immersion blender before serving so that no one could avoid the veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This soup was delicious! It was perfect for a cold and rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this soup a little haphazardly, as I didn't have all the ingredients. But, as has been stated, it's a phenomenal jumping off point to make variations on. \ I began by halving the recipe, as I'm just cooking for myself and a few close people. I added a few thinly sliced strips of bacon to the vegetables in the beginning. I also added potatoes and took out the celery (I hadn't any available). For the dijon mustard, I used a spicy jalapeno mustard instead. The beer I used was Montana Brewing Co's "Summer Honey Seasonal Ale". A fairly dark ale with a hint of sweetness, not bitter. I read about serving it with a soft pretzel and it's a phenomenal idea! Mind you, I'm not from Wisconsin (South Dakota), so I can't claim this to be a "real beer cheese soup", I can claim it to be a pretty delicious soup with some beer and cheese and bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Feege

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
The flavor is excellent, but you will have definite texture issues if you follow the instructions as written. Cheese and cream curdle very easily! To prevent the gritty texture many complain about here (and cut down on wasted extra pot to clean), I suggest making the following changes: 1st saute the vegetables in butter until they are tender. Then add the flour and dry mustard, stirring constantly until well mixed. Then add broth, beer, hot sauce, and spices. Cook for about 10 minutes or until warm, and then REDUCE the temperature to medium low. This will prevent curdling when you add your dairy next. Gradually add half and half and simmer for 10-15 minutes to thicken, stirring periodically. DO NOT ALLOW TO BOIL as this causes curdling. )Watch carefully, as this can happen quickly.) Then remove the pot from heat and gradually add cheese by small handfuls, stirring constantly. Stir in Dijon and Worcestershire, and put the pot back on to simmer on LOW for about 10 minutes. The key thing here is to keep the temperature low! Also, adding cheese at the end will prevent it from reacting with the beer, which can also cause it to curdle, especially if it is too hot or cold when added. By the way, this recipe is great the next day, too. Just remember to reheat it gently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States