Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipes rocks! The only things that I changed were adding twice as much garlic (because you can never have too much garlic) and I completely took out the dry mustard because I didn't have any. This soup tastes (and smells) like heaven in a bowl. I wouldn't be surprised if this soup ends up on my grocery list a lot. A KEEPER FOR SURE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Just made this and although I'm exhausted I really like it. I thought it would be thick since I've never had a thin beer cheese soup but I have to say - I like it better thin. Too often you order this in a restaurant and the texture and taste is similar to Old El Paso Cheese sauce in a jar. Can't wait to serve it at my dinner party - maybe I'll report back and maybe someone can tell me if it's supposed to be thin or did I mess up texture-wise. My husband says it's delicious and he doesn't hold back when asked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I don't even know what I did with this recipe! I followed the ingredients of the original recipe, however I followed the directions of another reviewers'. It was just ok for me, it was fun to make though!! I agree with another reviewer that it's missing something and that something is meat! Maybe I'll add brats or polish sausage next time. My husband also thinks I need to cut down on the fat and calorie content, this recipe didn't help with that!!! **UPDATE** So I only gave this 3 stars with the original recipe, but what I did with the left overs is a 5 star!!!! I boiled up some potatoes and mixed them in with the soup and made BEER CHEESE MASHED POTATOES!!!! I know it sounds weird, but I dare you to try it!!! Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I thought the soup tasted very good when first made. It doesn't reheat well, so next time I will cut recipe in half or thirds so I don't have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tlslackasu
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
really really yummy. We used a dark bear (heart of darkness harpoon)and it turned out REALLY yummy; if you like beer a lot. A light beer would be a little more mild and less bitter, but we liked it bitter! We had it on v-day with some steak, it was a perfect special soup course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hotpeppasauce
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe with quite a few adjustments (cuz thats just what i do ) I added steak, potatoes and mushrooms and made it more like a stew. I also changed the method of cooking. First I browned the meat with the onions and garlic, then I added the flour, beers and broth then the veggies and seasonings and let simmer until meat was tender. I then added the cheese directly to the soup and finally the 1/2 and 1/2. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I followed another reviewers instructions and sweated the vegies in the butter, added in the flour to make the roux. Added in the seasonings and liquids. Bring to a boil, lower temp and let cool down. Take off heat and slowly add in cheese. I use the pre-packaged shredded fine stuff and it works just fine if it's cooled down some and you add it in slowly. Being a life-long Wisconsinite, I also added in some beer brats that I cooked and diced and of course served with beer bread. Declared Best Superbowl feast ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I have had beer cheese soup at The Flying Saucer in Nashville, TN. Needless to say, it was okay. I could tell it was missing something! I decided to give it another try when I was preparing a 'man' themed dinner for my husband. I cooked this without the carrots and celery. Also, I substituted the dry mustard with table mustard (because I didn't have a mustard spice etc.). My husband KEEPS requesting me to make this again!!! It was the BEST CHEESE SOUP EVER. Perfectly spiced and amazing. I am going to make home-made pretzels the next time I make this delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbly.foodista

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The beer flavor was too strong for me and didn't seem to belong. I enjoy beer and used a relatively mild-tasting Miller Lite for this recipe. Sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I agree with the other reviews; the vegetables need to be sweated until they are tender. I used a sieve to get rid of all the uncooked vegetables. I thought the flavor of the soup was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Anne Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States