Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I agree with the other reviews; the vegetables need to be sweated until they are tender. I used a sieve to get rid of all the uncooked vegetables. I thought the flavor of the soup was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Great soup, but the dijon mustard was a bit overpowering. Next time I make this, I'll leave it out altogether as it really competes with the other flavors. I knew that I wanted this soup to be creamy and completely smooth, so I sauteed the veggies in butter until they softened, added the chicken broth and simmered until they were very soft. At that point, I used my stick blender and pureed the soup in the pot until very smooth. Then I proceeded with the recipe as directed, using half&half, and being very careful to keep it at a low simmer. I put out crumbled bacon and green onions to top with. This soup was a big hit at a party but had I known how much better this soup is on the second day...I would have made it ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made it the day before Christmas and served it on Christmas day for the soup course of our dinner. As others noted, it reheated beautifully. My notes: I shred my veggies in a food processor to make them smaller and to speed up the prep process. I also used an immersion blender to make the veggies even more fine for serving. There was lots of texture, but no big lumps of veggie. I thickened the soup the next day with more roux and added more salt, pepper, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce to enhance the flavor to my palate. EVERYONE RAVED!! Best cheese soup I've made. I will keep this recipe in my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Yum! This soup turned out thick & flavorful for me. I took everyone else's advice & sauteed the veggies in the butter first thing. I then added the flour & made a nice roux. I gradually added the broth, beer & other ingredients (except the dairy). I simmered it all for about 20 min, then added the milk & cheese, stirring constantly at med heat. It thickened up nicely & was fantastic w/nice fresh rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Adjusted the recipe for 20 servings. Didn't deviate from the instructions, and found it to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great flavor- I followed the recipe and advice of others- made sure the vegetables were soft- pureed them, used good block cheese- cooked cheese at low temp- still a bit of a texture issue but not enough to hinder me from making it again. Served it with Chef John's San Francisco bagles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I'm in Green Bay, waiting for the Packer game to start and my husband just made this. It is devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Outstanding. i used 2 cups of Mexican cheese mix and 4 cups of shedded cheddar. The Mexican cheese mix gave it some extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Sooooooooooooo good! It was a little thin but the taste made up for it. The veggies were a little chrunchy at first but I made the soup and then moved it to a crock pot and let it cook on low for a few hours, still waiting to see if that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I make this at home and for my coworkers all the time, we love it. Here's how I make it. I use an Alaskan Amber beer, half and half for sure, and for the shredded cheeses I use 3 cups aged sharp cheddar cheese 1 1/2 cups havarti and 1 1/2 cups gruyere cheese (ok probably a little more) and lastly instead of popcorn on top, add fully cooked sliced andouille sausage to add a little more spice and smokey flavor then usually put it in a crock pot to stay warm for work. Always gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States