Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made this tonight. It was DELICIOUS!!!! It took a little longer for me to thicken than the recipe called for and I even used half and half vs. milk, but in time it did thicken. Once I mixed everything together, I fired up the burner and got it to a boil and then reduced it to a simmer and it did thicken. It was to die for. I made a couple changes to the original recipe as well. I diced up two russet potatoes into the mix. Made a great addition and I'm sure it will be even better tomorrow with all those added potato starches :) I also fried up some bacon in a separate frying pan to crumble on top of the finished product, but before I dished up the soup, I added a few TBSP of the bacon grease right into the soup. It was very good!!! Oh and I tripled the hot sauce as well cause I love the hot sauce! I definitely recommend this recipe if you are looking for something cheesy and hearty for a nice fall day. Was great for Sunday football. I didn't try the popcorn on top, but the bacon was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Absolutly delicious , my whole family couldn't stop . Followed the recipe exactly , turned out to be very thick and creamy I did opt to use 1/2 and 1/2 because of the other reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This will definitely satisfy a craving for dairy. It was so good. Everyone loves it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was a good recipe, I loved the subtle spiciness. I did make a few changes to it: I used vegetable broth rather than chicken and omitted the worcestershire sauce (I am a vegetarian so I just upped the salt a bit); I also ran the broth/veggie mix through the blender to incorporate the veggies better before adding the cheese mixture; I used a pound of Velveeta cheese rather than sharp cheddar & finally I added a bit more beer at the end of cooking because I found the flavor disappeared somewhat when adding it right near the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I loved the result, and my SUPER PICKY 4 year old is enjoying the lefovers as cheese sauce for Mac and cheese. I did follow one reviewer's suggestion and sauteed the vegies in the butter, then added flour, then broth and beer, simmered, then added milk and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red7Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Sauteed the veggies before hand, but otherwise made according to directions. Will absolutely add this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Good. I used frozen veggies to save some time. Good mix of flavors. Used Summit Extra Pale since I wanted to tone down the beer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I used this recipe with my pot roast left overs and it was delish! I took the advice of a previous reviewer and added Velveeta as needed to thicken it up. Shiner Bock is great for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
We loved this recipe. My husband wanted me to try a sausage beer cheese soup, so I used this recipe with modifications, following the recipe for 6 servings. I ran out of cheddar so I added 1/2c of velveeta. I omitted the celery but added ground sausage, which I browned with the veggies. Veggies came out crisp tender, which was perfect. I used shredded carrots instead of diced carrots. For the beer, I went with Sam Adams boston lager. The flavor and texture was great. A week later and I'm still thinking about it, wishing we had more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This wasn't as thick and creamy as I had hoped for, but it had a very good taste and I can't complain. I actually used three more cups of cheese than the recipe called for to thicken it up a bit. Next time I might try using cream of chicken instead of chicken stock just to get the rich consistency I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Muleski
Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States