Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this for my friend's Oktoberfest party and it got rave reviews. As I didn't want chunky vegetables in the soup, I used a stick blender after cooking the veggies to puree. I also added probably a teaspoon or two of cider vinegar as I didn't find that the sharp cheese I used was quite sharp enough. Finally, I found that the flavor benefitted greatly from sitting overnight in the fridge. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made this soup exactly as the recipe stated for an Octoberfest party. It was a big hit!!!Very tasty and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great flavor! I prefer a smoother beer cheese soup, so I blended the leftovers. I used to work at a restaurant that served beer cheese soup--I don't know how authentic it was, but it's what I'll be aiming for next time I make this: I'll reduce the broth to make the soup thicker, omit the celery and carrot, and add diced potatoes. I found this separates quite a bit and doesn't make the best leftovers, so I'd suggest making enough for one, maybe two nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was a hit with my picky family. My husband, who can be hard to cook for, said this is a definite keeper. Went with the croutons instead of the popcorn, at another reviewer's suggestion, and it was good. I could see where popcorn would get soggy pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made this tonight. It was DELICIOUS!!!! It took a little longer for me to thicken than the recipe called for and I even used half and half vs. milk, but in time it did thicken. Once I mixed everything together, I fired up the burner and got it to a boil and then reduced it to a simmer and it did thicken. It was to die for. I made a couple changes to the original recipe as well. I diced up two russet potatoes into the mix. Made a great addition and I'm sure it will be even better tomorrow with all those added potato starches :) I also fried up some bacon in a separate frying pan to crumble on top of the finished product, but before I dished up the soup, I added a few TBSP of the bacon grease right into the soup. It was very good!!! Oh and I tripled the hot sauce as well cause I love the hot sauce! I definitely recommend this recipe if you are looking for something cheesy and hearty for a nice fall day. Was great for Sunday football. I didn't try the popcorn on top, but the bacon was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Absolutly delicious , my whole family couldn't stop . Followed the recipe exactly , turned out to be very thick and creamy I did opt to use 1/2 and 1/2 because of the other reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This will definitely satisfy a craving for dairy. It was so good. Everyone loves it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was a good recipe, I loved the subtle spiciness. I did make a few changes to it: I used vegetable broth rather than chicken and omitted the worcestershire sauce (I am a vegetarian so I just upped the salt a bit); I also ran the broth/veggie mix through the blender to incorporate the veggies better before adding the cheese mixture; I used a pound of Velveeta cheese rather than sharp cheddar & finally I added a bit more beer at the end of cooking because I found the flavor disappeared somewhat when adding it right near the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I loved the result, and my SUPER PICKY 4 year old is enjoying the lefovers as cheese sauce for Mac and cheese. I did follow one reviewer's suggestion and sauteed the vegies in the butter, then added flour, then broth and beer, simmered, then added milk and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red7Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Sauteed the veggies before hand, but otherwise made according to directions. Will absolutely add this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States