Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Good. I used frozen veggies to save some time. Good mix of flavors. Used Summit Extra Pale since I wanted to tone down the beer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I used this recipe with my pot roast left overs and it was delish! I took the advice of a previous reviewer and added Velveeta as needed to thicken it up. Shiner Bock is great for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
We loved this recipe. My husband wanted me to try a sausage beer cheese soup, so I used this recipe with modifications, following the recipe for 6 servings. I ran out of cheddar so I added 1/2c of velveeta. I omitted the celery but added ground sausage, which I browned with the veggies. Veggies came out crisp tender, which was perfect. I used shredded carrots instead of diced carrots. For the beer, I went with Sam Adams boston lager. The flavor and texture was great. A week later and I'm still thinking about it, wishing we had more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This wasn't as thick and creamy as I had hoped for, but it had a very good taste and I can't complain. I actually used three more cups of cheese than the recipe called for to thicken it up a bit. Next time I might try using cream of chicken instead of chicken stock just to get the rich consistency I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
In the recipes defense, I had been craving this for a couple of weeks so maybe my expectations were just too high but it didn't do it for me and I no longer crave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was delicious! Only gave it four stars because of the changes I made as a low carber. I simmered some cauliflower and mashed it up ...used this as the thickener...also add sausaage... I only needed 2 cups of cheese..Nice and creamy and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Awesome and easy weeknight meal! I did omit the broc like other raters suggested and it was really good! I did sprinkle some wondra on top at the end to help thicken a little more that it was. I also used chicken broth instead of the buillion. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camping Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Grand Forks, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a fantastic soup! I followed the recipe except that I sauteed the veggies first, then added the broth and beer. Because I like a smooth soup I pureed this mixture after it was through cooking. I used Rickards Red for the beer and it gave it a wonderful taste. Also used a high quality aged cheddar and it was worth it! Soooo rich and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
So amazingly fantastic and easy to make. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Incredible soup (I used heavy cream, nothing less) and gave the veggies a spin in the food processor. I used to sell it out of a deli kitchen in Palm Harbor. Customers couldn't get enough. ONLY use the popcorn as a side bite, not on the soup... or forgoe it. Crutes work good too, as does crispy bacon. YUMOLA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States